Green Bond Principles Governance Established; ICMA Appointed Secretariat

  Green Bond Principles Governance Established; ICMA Appointed Secretariat

Twelve additional banks announce support for the Principles bringing total to
                                      25

Business Wire

NEW YORK -- April 14, 2014

A group of financial institutions that recently created the Green Bond
Principles today released its governance framework, which will allow for
diverse stakeholder input into the Principles, provide effective oversight,
and support their further development. The group established the principles to
encourage transparency, disclosure, and integrity in the Green Bond market.

The governance framework sets out the membership eligibility, which requires
organizations to have issued, underwritten, or invested in Green Bonds, and
admits others in the field of green finance as observers. It establishes an
executive committee, which will include underwriters, issuers, and investors
with global geographic representation. It also provides the appointment of a
Secretariat. The governance framework is available for viewing at
www.icmagroup.org/greenbonds/.

The International Capital Market Association (ICMA) will serve as Secretariat,
assuming administrative duties, and providing guidance for the governance of
the Green Bond Principles and other issues. The Secretariat’s duties include
facilitating information exchange with issuers, investors, underwriters, and
other stakeholders, as well as gathering input for the annual update of the
Green Bond Principles.

The Green Bond Principles were developed with guidance from issuers,
investors, and environmental groups, and serve as voluntary guidelines on
recommended process for the development and issuance of Green Bonds. The
Principles suggest process for designating, disclosing, managing, and
reporting on the proceeds of a Green Bond. They are designed to provide
issuers with guidance on the key components involved in launching a Green
Bond, to aid investors by ensuring the availability of information necessary
to evaluate the environmental impact of their Green Bond investments, and to
assist underwriters by moving the market toward standard disclosures that
facilitate transactions.

To date, 25 banks have announced their support of the Principles. In addition
to the four founding banks that served as a drafting committee for the
Principles – Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Citi, Crédit Agricole CIB, and
JPMorgan Chase & Co. – and the nine initial supporters, including BNP Paribas,
Daiwa Capital Markets America Inc., Deutsche Bank, Goldman Sachs, HSBC, Mizuho
Securities, Morgan Stanley, Rabobank, and SEB – the following 12 banks have
also expressed their support of the Principles: Barclays, BMO Financial Group,
Credit Suisse AG, DNB, DZ BANK AG, ING, Lloyds Bank, Mitsubishi UFJ
Securities, Nomura, RBC Capital Markets, Santander Global Banking & Markets,
and Société Générale.

For information on how to participate in the Green Bond Principles, please
contact ICMA at greenbonds@icmagroup.org. As the Principles are designed to be
industry wide, Green Bond issuers and investors as well as banks are invited
to participate. Those interested in volunteering for the Executive Committee
may submit applications to ICMA between May 1st and May 31st.

Click here for more information on the Green Bond Principles.

International Capital Market Association (ICMA)

ICMA represents all the institutions that are active in the international
capital market and has members located in 53 countries. ICMA’s market
conventions and standards have been the pillars of the international debt
market for almost 50 years, providing the framework of rules governing market
practice which facilitate the orderly functioning of the market. ICMA actively
promotes the efficiency and cost effectiveness of the capital markets by
bringing together market participants including regulatory authorities and
governments. www.icmagroup.org

Contact:

Bank of America Merrill Lynch:
Kerrie McHugh, 646-855-3375
kerrie.mchugh@bankofamerica.com
or
Citi:
Tyler Daluz, 212-793-5234
tyler.b.daluz@citi.com
or
Crédit Agricole CIB:
Louise Tingstrom, +44 (0) 7899 066 995
louise.tingstrom@bladonmore.com
or
JPMorgan Chase & Co.:
Jennifer Kim, 212-622-7068
jennifer.h.kim@jpmchase.com
or
BNP Paribas:
Celeste Brown, +44-207-595-2436
celeste.brown@bnpparibas.com
or
Daiwa Capital Markets America Inc.:
Isabel DeJesus, 212-612-6151
Isabel.dejesus@us.daiwacm.com
or
Deutsche Bank:
Nick Probert, +44 (0)20 754 71605
nick.probert@db.com
or
Goldman Sachs:
Andrew Williams, +1 212-357-0005
andrew.williams@gs.com
or
HSBC:
Jonny Blostone, +44 (0) 20 7992 3448
jonny.blostone@hsbc.com
or
Mizuho Securities:
Benjamin Harding, +44 20 7090 6501
Benjamin.Harding@uk.mizuho-sc.com
or
Morgan Stanley:
Alex Wessendorff, +44 20 7425-8955
Alexander.Wessendorff@morganstanley.com
or
Rabobank:
Press Office, + 31 (0) 30 216 2758
pressoffice@rn.rabobank.nl
or
SEB:
Christopher Flensborg, +46 8506 23138
christopher.flensborg@seb.se
or
Barclays:
Jon Laycock, + 44 (0)20 7773 4324
jon.laycock@barclays.com
or
BMO Financial Group:
Pav Jordan, (416) 867-7645
pav.jordan@bmo.com
or
Credit Suisse AG:
Media Relations, +41 844 33 88 44
media.relations@credit-suisse.com
or
DNB:
Marit Giske, +47 90929940
marit.giske@dnb.no
or
DZ BANK AG:
Silvia Conesa, +49 69 7447 90568
silvia.conesa@dzbank.de
or
ING:
Carolien van der Giessen, +31 20 5766386
carolien.van.der.giessen@ing.com
or
International Capital Market Association:
Allan Malvar, +44 20 7213 0310
Allan.Malvar@icmagroup.org
or
Lloyds Bank:
Ian Kitts, +44 (0) 20 7356 1347
ian.kitts@lloydstsb.co.uk
or
Mitsubishi UFJ Securities:
Alexandra Rhys-Jones, +44 (0) 207 577 2668
alexandra.rhys-jones@int.sc.mufg.jp
or
Nomura:
Rebecca Daniel, +44 20 7102 4222
Rebecca.Daniel@nomura.com
or
RBC Capital Markets:
Christine Stewart, CPIR, 416-974-3678
Christine.Stewart@rbccm.com
or
Santander Global Banking & Markets:
Lisa Marheineke, +44 20 7756 4517
lisa.marheineke@santandergbm.com
or
Société Générale:
Murray Parker, +44 (0) 20 7676 6771
murray.parker@sgcib.com
 
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.