New Chair for the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan

TORONTO, April 9, 2014 /CNW/ - Ontario's Education Minister, Liz Sandals, and 
Julie Pauletig, President of the Ontario Teachers' Federation, representing 
the joint sponsors of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan, announce the 
appointment of Jean Turmel as the next Chair of the Board, effective January 
1, 2015. Mr. Turmel replaces Eileen Mercier, whose term as Chair expires at 
the end of the year. 
Since 2007, Mr. Turmel has been a member of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan 
Board and currently serves as Chair of its Investment Committee. He is also a 
member of the Audit and Actuarial Committee and the Human Resources and 
Compensation Committee.  Mr. Turmel is also the President of Perseus Capital 
Inc. and previously was President, Financial Markets, Treasury and Investment 
Bank at the National Bank of Canada. 
"Jean Turmel has an outstanding reputation in the investment community and we 
are honoured that he has agreed to take on this assignment on behalf of 
Ontario's teachers," said Ms. Pauletig. 
"Good governance has been a hallmark of the Teachers' Plan since its 
inception," said Minister Sandals. "Mr. Turmel joins a distinguished group of 
Canadians who have served as Board Chair over the years." 
Both Minister Sandals and Ms. Pauletig expressed their gratitude to out-going 
Chair Eileen Mercier for her dedicated service to the Plan since 2005. "Eileen 
has led the Board during the most challenging period in its history, ensuring 
that the Plan remains strong and financially viable," said Minister Sandals. 
"Her expertise and leadership in corporate governance have been of tremendous 
value," added Ms. Pauletig. 
The Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan is a jointly sponsored, defined benefit 
plan operating for the province's 307,000 active and retired teachers. It is 
the largest single-profession pension plan in Canada with assets that exceed 
$140 billion. The Plan's sponsors, the Ontario Teachers' Federation and the 
Government of Ontario, have equal representation on its Board and, together, 
they appoint a Board Chair for a two year term. 
The Ontario Teachers' Federation is the advocate for the teaching profession 
in Ontario and for its 160,000 teachers. OTF members are full-time, part-time 
and occasional teachers in all publicly funded schools in the province - 
elementary, secondary, public, Catholic and francophone.

SOURCE  Ontario Teachers' Federation 
Rhonda Kimberley-Young, Secretary-Treasurer, OTF, 416.966.3424; Gary Wheeler; 
Ministry of Education; 416.325.2454 
To view this news release in HTML formatting, please use the following URL: 
CO: Ontario Teachers' Federation
ST: Ontario
NI: EDU 2575 WNEWS  
-0- Apr/09/2014 13:56 GMT
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.