Gus Malzahn Of Auburn Named 2013 Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach Of The Year

    Gus Malzahn Of Auburn Named 2013 Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach Of The Year

PR Newswire

HOUSTON, Jan. 16, 2014

HOUSTON, Jan. 16, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Gus Malzahn of Auburn takes
the 2013 Coach of the Year title at the Marathon Oil Corporation Paul "Bear"
Bryant Awards benefiting the American Heart Association.


With a 2013 winning record of 12-1, leading the Tigers to the BCS National
Championship Game, Malzahn claimed the coach of the year honor to a packed
house of more than 750 guests in Houston. Malzahn, who served as Auburn's
offensive coordinator from 2009-11, has had an incredible first season as head

"It was an unbelievable year to be a part of," Malzahn said. "We got Auburn
back to where it should be."

The Coach of the Year winner is selected each year by the National
Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and announced live at the awards
dinner. The award recognizes excellence in coaching both on and off the field
while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke for the American Heart

The finalists competing with Malzahn for the Coach of the Year Award included:
David Bailiff (Rice), Art Briles (Baylor), Mark Dantonio (Michigan State) and
David Shaw (Stanford).

The 28^th annual event also recognized R.C. Slocum, one of the longest-serving
and winningest football coaches in Texas A&M history, as the 2014 Lifetime
Achievement Winner. His 123 victories in his first 14 years ranks eighth
all-time and puts him in the company of coaching legends such as Barry Switzer
(137), Tom Osborne (137), Steve Spurrier (132), Joe Paterno (131), LaVell
Edwards (129), Amos Alonzo Stagg (128), and Bud Wilkerson (124) – many of whom
have received recognition from the Paul "Bear" Bryant Awards.

Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of
the American Heart Association. For more information, contact 713-610-5000 or

American Heart Association
The American Heart Association is the nation's oldest and largest voluntary
health organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. Our
mission is to build healthier lives by preventing, treating and defeating
these diseases – America's No. 1 and No. 4 killers. We fund cutting-edge
research, conduct lifesaving public and professional educational programs, and
advocate to protect public health. To learn more or join us in helping all
Americans, call 1-800-AHA-USA1 or visit

About Marathon Oil Corporation
Marathon Oil is an international exploration and production company. Based in
Houston, Texas, the Company had net proved reserves at the end of 2012 of 2
billion barrels of oil equivalent in North America, Europe and Africa. For
more information, please visit our website at

The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association  is the largest
national association that focuses on the crafts of both sportscasting and
sportswriting. The association, with its headquarters in Salisbury, N.C.,
honors the National Sportscaster of the Year and the National Sportswriter of
the Year.

Media Contact: Shelly Millwee
American Heart Association

SOURCE American Heart Association

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.