Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang Join Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Founding Sponsors Bringing the Total Number of Annual $3

  Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang Join Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Founding
    Sponsors Bringing the Total Number of Annual $3 million Prizes to Six

Online Nominations For 2014 Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences Are Open
Through October 2, 2013

PR Newswire

SAN FRANCISCO, Sept. 26, 2013

SAN FRANCISCO, Sept. 26, 2013 /PRNewswire/ --The Breakthrough Prize in Life
Sciences Foundation announces that Jack Ma, the prominent Chinese Internet
entrepreneur and founder of Alibaba Group, and his wife Cathy Zhang have
agreed to join the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Foundation's founding
sponsors (Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan,
and Yuri Milner). This brings the total number of annual prizes to six, $3
million each. All prizes will be awarded for research aimed at curing
intractable diseases and extending human life, with special attention to
recent discoveries; one prize is aimed specifically at advancements in
Parkinson's disease research. The names of the winners will be announced
before the end of year 2013.

(Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20130926/NY87765 )

In addition to financial support related to the Prizes, the Foundation is
pleased to announce that Jack Ma has agreed to serve as a director, joining
Art Levinson (Chairman), Mark Zuckerberg,Anne Wojcicki and Yuri Milner.

Online nominations for 2014 Breakthrough Prizes were opened on September 3,
2013 and will be accepted through October 2, 2013. The nomination form and the
rules are available at:

"It is my honor to be able to contribute to innovation in the field of
medicalresearch, and I hope that this can one day help make a difference in
the lives of many," said Jack Ma, Executive Chairman of Alibaba Group.

"We couldn't be more thrilled to welcome Jack Ma to the project. It's great
news for the Prize, and great news for medical science: there are now six
3-million-dollar prizes for trailblazing thinkers who are advancing science
and helping to save lives," said Art Levinson, CEO of Calico and Chairman of
Apple Inc.,Genentech, Inc., and the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences

For additional inquiries, contact:

For Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences
Foundation                                      For Jack Ma
Oliver Phillips
                                                John W. Spelich
Brunswick Group                                 Alibaba Group
                                                +852 9017 7444
+1 212 333 3810                                 johnspelich@hk.alibaba-inc.com

+44 7590 976 334

About Jack Ma:

Jack Ma
Executive Chairman, Alibaba Group

Jack Ma is the lead founder of Alibaba Group. After the company's debut in
1999, he served as chairman and chief executive officer for more than a
decade, with responsibility for overall strategy and focus. On May 10, 2013,
he stepped down as chief executive officer, but he remains executive chairman
and continues to shape Alibaba Group's business strategy and management

Jack, who holds a bachelor's degree in English from Hangzhou Teacher's
Institute, currently serves on the board of SoftBank Corp., a leading digital
information company publicly traded on the Tokyo Stock Exchange. He is also a
director of Huayi Brothers Media Corporation, a company listed on The Shenzhen
Stock Exchange. In 2009, Jack became a trustee of The Nature Conservancy's
China program, and he joined the global board of directors of the organization
in 2010. Since May 11, 2013, he has served as chair of The Nature
Conservancy's China board of directors.

About the Breakthrough Prize Foundation:

The Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Foundation is a not-for-profit
corporation dedicated to advancing breakthrough research in life sciences,
celebrating scientists and generating excitement about the pursuit of science
as a career. Additional information about the Foundation and the 2013
recipients of the prizes can be found at

The 2014 prize winners will be selected by the Foundation's Selection
Committee, which comprises prior recipients of the Breakthrough Prize in Life
Sciences, including:

  oCornelia I. Bargmann
  oDavid Botstein
  oLewis C. Cantley
  oHans Clevers
  oNapoleone Ferrara
  oTitia de Lange
  oEric S. Lander
  oCharles L. Sawyers
  oBert Vogelstein
  oRobert A. Weinberg
  oShinya Yamanaka

SOURCE Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Foundation

Website: http://breakthroughprizeinlifesciences.org
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.