Reagan National Defense Forum: Building Peace Through Strength Through 2025 to Be Held at the Reagan Library, November 16, 2013

Reagan National Defense Forum: Building Peace Through Strength Through 2025 to 
Be Held at the Reagan Library, November 16, 2013 
Speakers Include Secretary Chuck Hagel, General Martin Dempsey,
Secretary John McHugh, Admiral Jonathan Greenert, Chairman Carl Levin
and Congressman Howard "Buck" McKeon; Inaugural "Ronald Reagan Peace
Through Strength Award" to Be Presented 
SIMI VALLEY, CA -- (Marketwired) -- 09/05/13 --  The Ronald Reagan
Presidential Foundation and Library will bring together leaders and
key stakeholders in the defense community -- including members of
Congress, civilian officials and military leaders from the Defense
Department and industry -- to address the health of our national
defense and to stimulate a discussion that promotes policies that
strengthen the United States military into the future. Panels and
keynote addresses will make up the day-long conference. 
"My husband worked every day of our eight years in Washington, D.C.
to ensure that our country was peacefully protected and that our
military was the finest in the world," said former first lady Nancy
Reagan. "He would be so pleased to know that his 'Peace Through
Strength' policies are being discussed again at the Reagan Library
with a focus on today's new technology and tomorrow's needs."  
A keynote address will be made by General Martin Dempsey, Chairman,
Joint Chiefs of Staff, with the Forum's closing remarks being made by
The Honorable Chuck Hagel, United States Secretary of Defense.
Multiple panels will also be held throughout the day, including
"Counterterrorism in 2025: What Kind of Fighting Force Will be
Required?", "The Industrial Base After a Decade of War and in an Era
of Declining Budgets: Where do we Need to be in 2025?", "Congress,
Industry and the Pentagon: Assessing the Relationship" and "What
Should the Asia Rebalance Look Like in 2025?" 
"The Ronald Reagan Foundation has held Presidential Debates, day-long
policy conferences and national speaker series featuring key leaders
for years," said Frederick J. Ryan, Jr., Chairman of the Board of
Trustees of the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation. "We are
pleased to extend our reach by hosting the Reagan National Defense
Forum, an important conference in which military and defense
departments can only be served by re-examining President Reagan's
commitment to and vision for a strong military." 
An Honorary Steering Committee, chaired by Congressman Buck McKeon,
includes Duncan Hunter, James Inhofe, Ann McLaughlin Korologos, John
McCain, Sam Nunn, Leon Panetta, George Shultz, Ike Skelton, Adam
Smith, John Warner and Pete Wilson.  
"More than ever before we are learning the true value of peace
through strength," said Congressman Buck McKeon, Chairman of the
House Armed Services Committee. "There is no more appropriate venue
to explore how well America's defense policy is holding to that maxim
than the Reagan Library. This country's most respected national
security thinkers are scheduled to participate in what has already
become a must attend event. My hope is that the Reagan Forum will be
the can't miss defense conference for years to come." 
Panelists and attendees include, in alphabetical order: 
Department of Defense/Military
 The Honorable Rudy DeLeon, Former
Deputy Secretary of Defense
 General Martin Dempsey, Chairman, Joint
Chiefs of Staff
 The Honorable Eric Edelman, Former Ambassador to
Finland & Turkey, Former 
 Undersecretary of Defense for Policy
Honorable Robert Gates, Former Secretary of Defense
 Admiral Jonathan
Greenert, Chief of Naval Operations, U.S. Navy
 The Honorable Chuck
Hagel, United States Secretary of Defense
 The Honorable Robert Hale,
Undersecretary of Defense, Comptroller
 General Michael Hostage,
Commander, Air Combat Command
 General Jack Keane, Former Vice Chief
of Staff, United States Army
 The Honorable John Lehman, Former
Secretary of the Navy
 Secretary John McHugh, Secretary of the Army,
U.S. Army
 Admiral William McRaven, Commander, U.S. Special
Operations Command
 The Honorable Dov Zakheim, Former Undersecretary
of Defense 
Elected Officials:
 Senator Kelly Ayotte, New Hampshire
Randy Forbes, Virginia
 Congressman Duncan Hunter, Former
Congressman, California
 Senator Carl Levin, Michigan
Howard P. "Buck" McKeon, California
 Congressman Adam Smith,
 Senator Jim Talent, Former Senator, Missouri
Mac Thornberry, Texas
 Congressman Mike Turner, Ohio
Brad Wenstrup, Ohio
 Governor Pete Wilson, Former Governor of
California, Former U.S. Senator 
 Mr. Wes Bush, Chairman,
CEO & President, Northrop Grumman
 Mr. J.D. Crouch, CEO, QinetiQ
North America
 Mr. Thomas Donnelly, Director, Marilyn Ware Center for
Security Studies, American Enterprise Institute
 The Honorable
Michele Flournoy, Former Undersecretary of Defense for Policy,
Co-Chair of 
 the Board of Directors, Center for a New American
 The Honorable Sean O'Keefe, CEO, EADS North America
Chuck Robbins, SVP Worldwide Operations, CISCO
 General Norton
Schwartz, President & CEO, Business Executives for National Security 
Mr. Bill Swanson, CEO, Raytheon 
Registration fee for the conference is $499 per person and include
free admission into the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum
and Air Force One Pavilion. Registration details and more information
on the conference can be found at  
Following the day's panels, the evening will conclude with the
presentation of a Ronald Reagan Peace Through Strength Award to
former Secretary of Defense, Dr. Robert Gates and to Senate Armed
Services Committee Chairman, Senator Carl Levin. The Ronald Reagan
Peace Through Strength Award recognizes the exemplary dedication and
service of individuals in the defense of the United States and its
people. The evening award presentation is not a part of the Reagan
National Defense Forum conference. As such, ticket holders to the
daytime Forum will not also be a part of the award presentations.  
The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation is a non-profit,
non-partisan organization dedicated to the preservation and promotion
of the legacy of Ronald Reagan and his timeless principles of
individual liberty, economic opportunity, global democracy, and
national pride. It sustains the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library
and Museum, the Reagan Center for Public Affairs, the Walter and
Leonore Annenberg Presidential Learning Center and The Air Force One
Pavilion. Located in Simi Valley, California the Library houses 63
million pages of Gubernatorial, Presidential and personal papers and
over 60,000 gifts and artifacts chronicling the lives of Ronald and
Nancy Reagan. It now also serves as the final resting place of
America's 40th President.  
Media Contacts:
Reagan Foundation:
Melissa Giller
Shahla Seaborn
Chairman McKeon:
Claude Chafin
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.