SAFE-BioPharma Elects Four Pharma Executives to Board of Directors

  SAFE-BioPharma Elects Four Pharma Executives to Board of Directors

Business Wire

FT. LEE, N.J. -- August 13, 2013

Four pharmaceutical executives have been elected to the Board of Directors of
SAFE-BioPharma Association, the strategic non-profit collaboration that
developed and manages the global SAFE-BioPharma® digital identity and digital
signature standard for the life science and healthcare sectors. The
association’s members include most of the world’s largest biopharmaceutical

The SAFE-BioPharma standard is used throughout the biopharmaceutical and
healthcare industries to manage high assurance digital identities and to apply
legally-binding digital signatures to electronic documents.

The four new directors are:

  *James DeZazzo, Ph.D., Esq., Corporate IP Counsel, Dart NeuroScience, San
    Diego. Dr. DeZazzo earned his Ph.D. in Cellular Biology from the
    University of Michigan and his J.D. from Wayne State University. A
    registered patent attorney at the United States Patent and Trademark
    Office,  he brings a multi-disciplinary perspective spanning more than 20
    years of scientific research and nearly a decade of legal experience in
    law firm and industry settings.
  *Colleen McMahon,  Head, Information Security Strategy, Governance and
    Architecture, GlaxoSmithKline, Philadelphia. Ms. McMahon participated in
    the original development of the SAFE-BioPharma standard and is responsible
    for the development of the GSK information protection strategy.
  *Hisashi Shimobayashi,Senior Director of Strategy and
    Planning,Information Systems, Astellas Pharma Inc., Tokyo. Mr.
    Shimobayashi is theGlobal Head for all IS strategy and planning. He has
    led Astellas global efforts to utilize the SAFE-BioPharma digital identity
    and signature standard.
  *Karan Sorensen, President,Sorensen Strategies, LLC, Charleston, SC, a
    strategic management consulting firm. Prior to forming Sorensen
    Strategies, Ms. Sorensen held several senior R&D/IT positions at Johnson &
    Johnson, including Vice President and Chief Information Officer Johnson &
    Johnson Pharmaceutical Research & Development LLC and Centocor Research &
    Development, Inc.

The all-volunteer Board participates in establishing the association’s goals,
which include global expansion of the SAFE-BioPharma standard among
biopharmaceutical industry partners and the U.S. healthcare system and its
acceptance by governments and research institutions.

“Each of the new directors, brings specific talents to SAFE-BioPharma. They
will complement our longer serving board members in providing effective
governance of the standard,” said Mollie Shields-Uehling, president and CEO
and a director of SAFE-BioPharma Association.

About SAFE-BioPharma

For more information on the SAFE-BioPharma standard for digital identity and
digital signatures used in life science and healthcare settings, visit

SAFE-BioPharma® is a trademark of SAFE-BioPharma Association. Any use of this
trademark requires approval from SAFE-BioPharma Association.


SAFE-BioPharma Association
Jon Weisberg, 801-359-9977
Mobile: 801-860-9977
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.