David Julius Wins 2013 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research

    David Julius Wins 2013 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research

PR Newswire

SAN FRANCISCO, June 12, 2013

SAN FRANCISCO, June 12, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Johnson & Johnson today named
David Julius, PhD, chair of the Department of Physiology at the University of
California, San Francisco (UCSF), the winner of the 2013 Dr. Paul Janssen
Award for Biomedical Research. Dr. Julius was chosen for his discovery of the
molecular mechanism that controls thermosensation (sensory perception of
temperature) and elucidation of the role this mechanism plays in the sensation
of acute and inflammatory pain. By providing a mechanistic view of how stimuli
are detected in the body, his discovery significantly advanced the study of
pain and may lead to new pain therapies.

The Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research was created by Johnson &
Johnson to honor the legacy of one of the most passionate, creative and
productive scientists of the 20th century, Dr. Paul Janssen (1926-2003). Dr.
Paul – as he was known in the scientific community – founded Janssen
Pharmaceutica, which was acquired by Johnson & Johnson in 1961. His work led
to the development of more than 80 transformational medicines in several
fields, including pain management, psychiatry, infectious disease and

"The progressive research of Dr. Julius has dramatically shifted the approach
to thermosensation exploration, with significant implications for future
developments in the treatment of chronic pain and inflammatory syndromes,"
said Dr. Paul Stoffels, Chief Scientific Officer, Johnson & Johnson. "His body
of work gives us a deeper understanding of the molecular logic that connects
ion channels, sensory biology and behavior, enabling the development of more
effective treatments for those suffering from neurogenic inflammatory

Dr. Julius, a biochemist and molecular biologist, utilizes the power of
natural products to elucidate molecular mechanisms of touch and pain
sensation. Using these products as pharmacological probes, he identified
transient receptor potential (TRP) channels on sensory nerve fibers that are
activated by heat or cold, providing molecular insight into the process of
thermosensation. He began with identifying how capsaicin, the spicy ingredient
in chili peppers, produces burning pain. Eventually, Dr. Julius was able to
pinpoint a receptor for menthol (TRPM8) and showed that it is activated by
cold, revealing a unifying mechanism for temperature detection. By connecting
these dots, Dr. Julius supplied insight into the detection of painful stimuli,
as well as how the nervous system detects changes in ambient temperature.

"The past recipients of the Dr. Paul Janssen Award are a remarkable group of
scientists, and I am proud to have been selected to join them in accepting
this honor," said Dr. Julius. "My research was born out of a fascination with,
and desire to comprehend how the body reacts to stimuli from ordinary foods,
like chili peppers, with a particular focus on the molecular basis of pain
sensation. I am proud that my work may lead to more effective treatments for
people living with diseases like arthritis, asthma and chronic pain."

The winners of the Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research are chosen
by an independent selection committee of the world's most renowned scientists.
The Award, which includes a $100,000 prize, will be presented to Dr. Julius in
a ceremony followed by a scientific symposium to take place in September.

About The Dr.Paul JanssenAward for Biomedical Research

Dr. Paul Janssen was one of the 20th century's most gifted and passionate
researchers. He helped save millions of lives through his contribution to the
discovery and development of more than 80 medicines, four of which remain on
the World Health Organization's list of essential medicines. The Dr.Paul
JanssenAward for Biomedical Research was established by Johnson & Johnson to
honor the memory of Dr. Paul. Past winners include Craig Mello, Marc Feldmann,
Sir Ravinder Maini, Axel Ullrich, Erik De Clercq, Anthony S. Fauci, Napoleone
Ferrara, Victor Ambros and Gary Ruvkun. Learn more at

About the Selection Committee

The Dr.Paul JanssenAward independent Selection Committee is composed of some
of the world's leading scientists, including National Medal of Science
winners, Nobel Laureates, members of the National Academy of Sciences and past
winners of The Dr.Paul JanssenAward. The 2013 Selection Committee includes:

  oCraig Mello, Ph.D., (chairman) professor of Molecular Medicine, University
    of Massachusetts Medical School and investigator, Howard Hughes Medical
    Institute; 2006 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine; 2006 Dr. Paul
    Janssen Award for Biomedical Research winner; member, National Academy of
  oBruce Beutler, M.D., Regental Professor, Director, Center for the Genetics
    of Host Defense, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; 2011
    Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine; 2011 Shaw Prize winner; 2009
    Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research winner;
    member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  oElizabeth Blackburn, Ph.D., Morris Herzstein Professor of Biology and
    Physiology, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of
    California, San Francisco; 2009 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine;
    2006 Albert Lasker Medical Research Award winner; 2007 one of TIME
    Magazine's 100 Most Influential People
  oMichael Brown, M.D., Paul J. Thomas Professor of Molecular Genetics and
    Director of the Jonsson Center for Molecular Genetics, UT Southwestern;
    1985 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine; 1988 National Medal of
    Science (United States)
  oRobert Langer, Sc. D., David H. Koch Institute Professor of Chemical
    Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; 2006 National Medal of
    Science winner; Charles Stark Draper Prize winner; 2008 Millennium Prize
    winner; member, National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of
    Sciences, Institute of Medicine
  oRebecca Richards-Kortum, Ph.D., Stanley C. Moore Professor of
    Bioengineering and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
    Director of Rice 360°: Institute for Global Health Technology, Rice
    University; fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological
    Engineering; fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
    and Biomedical Engineering Society; 2010 Pritzker Distinguished Scientist
    and Lecturer of the Biomedical Engineering Society Annual Meeting
  oAxel Ullrich, Ph.D., Director, Department of Molecular Biology, Max Planck
    Institute of Biochemistry, Germany; winner, 2009 Dr. Paul Janssen Award
    for Biomedical Research; 2010 Wolf Prize winner
  oHuda Zoghbi, M.D., Professor, Baylor College of Medicine; investigator,
    Howard Hughes Medical Institute;  Director, Jan and Dan Duncan
    Neurological Research Institute; member,  National Academy of Science and
    the Institute of Medicine; member, Lasker Award jury; E. Mead Johnson
    Award for Pediatric Research winner

About Johnson & Johnson
Caring for the world, one person at a time, inspires and unites the people of
Johnson & Johnson. We embrace research and science – bringing innovative
ideas, products and services to advance the health and well-being of people.
Our approximately 129,000 employees at more than 250 Johnson & Johnson
operating companies work with partners in health care to touch the lives of
over a billion people every day, throughout the world.

For more information, visit www.jnj.com.

Seema Kumar

Diane Pressman

Frederik Wittock
+32 14 60 57 24

SOURCE Johnson & Johnson

Website: http://www.jnj.com
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.