Election to Statoil's board of directors

Election to Statoil's board of directors 
STAVANGER, NORWAY -- (Marketwired) -- 06/12/13 --  In a meeting in
the Corporate Assembly of Statoil ASA (OSE:STL, NYSE:STO) 11 June
Svein Rennemo was re-elected as chair and Grace Reksten Skaugen as
deputy chair of the board of directors. Borge  Brende, Bjorn Tore
Godal, Maria Johanna Oudeman and Jakob Stausholm are re-elected as
shareholder representatives to the board. Catherine Hughes and James
J. Mulva were elected as new shareholder representatives to the
board. Board members Roy Franklin and Lady Barbara Judge have
notified the nomination committee that they do not wish to stand for
re-election to the board of directors. 
Catherine Hughes is a Canadian/French citizen. She has an extensive
career within the oil and gas industry. From 2009 to 2013 she worked
for Nexen, located in Alberta, Canada, first as vice president (VP)
operational services, technology and HR and from 2012 as executive
vice president responsible for all activities outside Canada. From
2005 to 2009, she was VP exploration and production services then VP
oil sands at Husky Oil. Prior to that Hughes spent 20 years with
Schlumberger and held key positions in various countries including
Nigeria, Italy, France, UK, Canada and USA. She holds a Bachelor of
Science degree in electrical engineering from Institut National des
Sciences Appliquees de Lyon. Neither Hughes nor her close associates
hold shares in Statoil. 
James J. Mulva is a US citizen. He was president and CEO of
Houston-based ConocoPhillips from 2002 until retirement in 2012. From
2004 to 2012 he also served as chairman of the board. Prior to this
he was chairman, president and CEO of Phillips Petroleum from 1999 to
2002.  Mulva started his career in the oil and gas industry with
Phillips Petroleum Company in 1973 and held positions within the
finance area, being chief financial officer (CFO) from 1990 -1993. He
served as chief operating officer (COO), responsible for all
operations including refineries, offshore and onshore activities from
1994 to 1999. He holds a Master of Business Administration from
University of Texas. Mulva presently serves at the board of directors
of General Motors and General Electric. Neither Mulva nor his close
associates hold shares in Statoil. 
The election enters into effect from 1 July 2013 until the next
ordinary election of shareholder representatives to the board of
directors in 2014. 
All candidates were elected in accordance with the proposal from the
nomination committee. 
Further, the corporate assembly has re-elected Lill-Heidi Bakkerud as
employee representative to the Statoil board of directors. Ingrid Di
Valerio and Stig Laegreid have been elected as new employee
The following persons have been elected as deputy members for the
board's employee representatives (with the following priority): Per
Steinar Stamnes, Per Gunnar Stavland, Jorunn Birkeland, Trine Christel
Thomassen Holsen and Heikki Lehmoinen Oltedal. 
The election enters into effect from 1 July 2013 and the employee
representatives have been elected for a period of two years. 
This information is subject of the disclosure requirements acc. to
Section  5-12 vphl (Norwegian Securities Trading Act) 
This announcement is distributed by Thomson Reuters on behalf of
Thomson Reuters clients. The owner of this announcement warrants
(i) the releases contained herein are protected by copyright and    
other applicable laws; and 
(ii) they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and     
originality of the information contained therein. 
Source: Statoil via Thomson Reuters ONE 
Olaug Svarva
chair of Statoil's corporate assembly and the nomination committee. 
All enquiries to be directed through Statoil Corporate Press Office
Jannik Lindbaek
tel: +47 977 55 622
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.