Great Gardening Weekend 2013 - Isabelle Dupras, winner of the Henry Teuscher award

Great Gardening Weekend 2013 - Isabelle Dupras, winner of the Henry Teuscher 
MONTREAL, May 24, 2013 /CNW Telbec/ - The Montréal Botanical Garden—a 
Montréal Space for Life—is proud to be giving Ms.Isabelle Dupras the 
Henry Teuscher award at the Great Gardening Weekend 2013. The winner is being 
recognized for her meaningful contribution to the advancement of Québec 
ornamental horticulture. 
A dedicated visionary 
With a background as a landscape architect, Isabelle Dupras has spent more 
than 20years promoting and preserving the native flora of Québec. A 
visionary of this growing trend, she uses her inexhaustible energy to carry 
out innovative projects that are proof of her consistent dedication to the 
biodiversity that is essential to our urban and rural ecosystems. 
Rigour and passion
Rejecting preconceived notions in horticulture, Isabelle Dupras focuses on 
solutions adapted to today's environmental issues. She puts all of her passion 
into raising awareness of the importance of offering native plants in 
nurseries in order to counter wild and uncontrolled crops. 
A journey filled with achievements Isabelle Dupras is co-founder and President 
and CEO of Horticulture Indigo, a nursery and centre for excellence, research, 
innovation and knowledge sharing. A founding member and administrator of 
FloraQuebeca—an organization dedicated to protecting flora and its 
habitats—she has helped develop a provincial standard requiring that native 
and naturalized plants sold on the market be produced in nurseries. A trainer, 
author and designer, she takes credit for over one hundred publications, 
access to more than 250native species including a collection in 
biodegradable pots, and seeds used for ecological restoration and landscaping. 
The Henry Teuscher awards, a tradition since 1999
The winners from 1999 to 2012 were: Francis H. Cabot (2012, posthumously); 
Hélène Leclerc (2011); Jacques André Rioux (2010); Elsie Reford and 
Alexander Reford (2009); Jean-Claude Vigor (2008); Émile Jacqmain (2007); 
Fred Oehmichen (2006); Daniel A. Séguin (2005); Gaëtan Hamel (2004); Milan 
B. Havlin (2003); Henri and Camille Perron (2002); Wilfrid Meloche (2001); 
Roger Van den Hende (2000) and Tony Huber (1999). 
The Montréal Space for Life is the world's first ever site dedicated to both 
human beings and nature. It includes the Biodôme, Insectarium, Botanical 
Garden and Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium. Together, they are committed to 
preserving and enhancing biodiversity, and call on citizens locally and around 
the world to join this bold and creative urban movement. 
Karine Jalbert, Communications Coordinator Telephone: 514-872-1453  François Ouellet, Communication 
Assistant Telephone: 514-872-3232   
SOURCE: Espace pour la vie 
To view this news release in HTML formatting, please use the following URL: 
CO: Espace pour la vie
ST: Quebec
-0- May/24/2013 14:30 GMT
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.