Harrigle And Schilling Win 2013 BorgWarner Louis Schwitzer Award

       Harrigle And Schilling Win 2013 BorgWarner Louis Schwitzer Award

PR Newswire

AUBURN HILLS, Mich., May, 21, 2013

AUBURN HILLS, Mich., May, 21, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The 47th annual BorgWarner
Louis Schwitzer Award has been presented to engineers Dale Harrigle and Brett
Schilling from Bridgestone Americas Motorsports for the Firestone Firehawk™
Indy 500 Race Tire. Designed to withstand the harsh environment of the IZOD
IndyCar^® Series, the Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 Race Tire features improved
compounds and construction designed to increase performance, improve endurance
and continue a winning tradition.

(Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20130521/DE17740-a)
(Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20130521/DE17740-b) 

Firestone tires have been setting the pace at the Indianapolis 500 since Ray
Harroun's inaugural victory in 1911, when he drove the Marmon Wasp powered by
Louis Schwitzer's Yellow Jacket engine. As the Indianapolis 500's exclusive
tire supplier since 1995, the Firestone race tire team built on its
experience, expertise and engineering excellence to develop race tires that
provide great grip, durability and racing excitement. The Firehawk Indy 500
Race Tire features a high-grip tread compound created with Firestone's
propriety additives and raw rubber. The belts are composed of a proprietary
aramid synthetic fiber, with steel used only in the beads. Firestone's
engineers employed proven modeling methods to calculate forces and moments,
and perform steady-state modeling. Within only six months, the race tire team
developed and tested the tires on the race track.

Presented by engineers to engineers, the BorgWarner Louis Schwitzer Award
recognizes individuals for innovation and engineering excellence in race car
design associated with the annual Indianapolis 500. The winners are honored at
an awards banquet, and their names are immortalized on the Schwitzer trophy on
permanent display at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum. The
$10,000 award is sponsored by BorgWarner and presented to the winning
engineer(s) by the Indiana Section of SAE International.

Initiated in 1967, the award memorializes automotive pioneer, engineer and
professional race car driver Louis Schwitzer. In 1909, Schwitzer won the first
auto race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS). He also designed the
"Marmon Yellow Jacket" engine that powered the Marmon Wasp to victory at the
first Indianapolis 500 in 1911. After working in the automotive industry for
many years, Louis founded the Schwitzer Corporation, which produced innovative
cooling fans, water pumps and turbochargers. In 1999, the Schwitzer
Corporation joined BorgWarner. Throughout his career, Schwitzer enjoyed
numerous technological accomplishments, supported higher education, led the
IMS technical committee and maintained a strong association with SAE.

BorgWarner continues his legacy of technology leadership as the official
turbocharger supplier of the IZOD IndyCar Series. The engine of every car in
the 2013 Indianapolis 500 is boosted by BorgWarner's line of EFR (for
"Engineered For Racing") turbochargers, which feature Gamma TiAl (titanium
aluminide) turbine wheels, ceramic ball bearings and stainless steel turbine

About BorgWarner
Auburn Hills, Michigan-based BorgWarner Inc. (NYSE: BWA) is a technology
leader in highly engineered components and systems for powertrain applications
worldwide. Operating manufacturing and technical facilities in 57 locations in
19 countries, the company develops products to improve fuel economy, reduce
emissions and enhance performance. Customers include VW/Audi, Ford, Toyota,
Renault/Nissan, General Motors, Hyundai/Kia, Daimler, Chrysler, Fiat, BMW,
Honda, John Deere, PSA, and MAN. For more information, please visit

SOURCE BorgWarner Inc.

Website: http://www.borgwarner.com
Contact: Erika Nielsen, 248.754.0422
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.