The Jones Group Nominates James A. Mitarotonda for Election to its Board of Directors

 The Jones Group Nominates James A. Mitarotonda for Election to its Board of

Expands Board from 10 to 11 Directors

PR Newswire

NEW YORK, May 6, 2013

NEW YORK, May 6, 2013 /PRNewswire/ --The Jones Group Inc. ("Jones" or the
"Company") (NYSE: JNY) today announced that it has reached an agreement with
Barington Capital Group, L.P. ("Barington") under which James A. Mitarotonda
has been nominated to stand for election to the Board of Directors at the
Company's 2013 Annual Meeting of Stockholders. With the addition of Mr.
Mitarotonda, the Jones Board of Directors will expand to eleven members, eight
of whom are independent, ten of whom are non-management and all of whom are
annually elected.

Robert L. Mettler, Chair of the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
and Presiding Independent Director of the Board of Directors, said: "We value
Jim's expertise in the retail, apparel and footwear industries and welcome his
input as we continue to execute on our plan and drive results during this
pivotal period of transformation for the Company. The Jones Group Board of
Directors and management team are focused on improving profitability and
enhancing shareholder value for the long-term."

James A. Mitarotonda, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Barington
Capital Group, stated: "I am pleased to join the Board of The Jones Group, a
well-respected company with significant potential for future growth. I
support the recent initiatives the Company has taken and I look forward to
working with my fellow directors to build value for all Jones Group

After joining the Board, Mr. Mitarotonda will be serving on the Audit

As part of the agreement, Barington, which represents a group of investors
that owns approximately 2.3% of The Jones Group common stock, has agreed to
vote its shares in support of all of the Company's director nominees at the
2013 Annual Meeting. Barington has also agreed to certain customary
"standstill" provisions.

The Company will file the full text of the agreement on a Form 8-K with the
Securities and Exchange Commission today, and will also file and mail to its
stockholders its proxy materials in due course. The annual meeting will be
held on June 14, 2013 and stockholders of record at the close of business on
March 26, 2013 will be entitled to vote.

About James A. Mitarotonda

James A. Mitarotonda is Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of
Barington Capital Group, L.P., an investment firm that he co-founded in
November 1991 that has significant experience investing in retail, apparel and
footwear companies. He currently serves as a director of A. Schulman, Inc.
and The Pep Boys – Manny, Moe & Jack and is a former director of a number of
publically traded companies, including Griffon Corporation, Gerber Scientific,
Inc.,, Inc. and Ameron International Corporation. Mr.
Mitarotonda received an M.B.A. from New York University's Graduate School of
Business Administration (now known as the Stern School of Business) and a B.A.
in economics from Queens College, where he now serves as Chairman of its
Business Advisory Board.

About Barington Capital Group, L.P.

Barington Capital Group, L.P. is an investment management firm that primarily
invests in undervalued, small and mid-capitalization companies. Barington and
its principals are experienced value-added investors who have taken active
roles in assisting companies in creating or improving shareholder value.
Barington has significant experience investing in retail, apparel and
footwear companies, with prior investments in The Warnaco Group, Dillard's,
Nautica, Steven Madden, Payless ShoeSource, Stride Rite, Maxwell Shoe and
Harry Winston.

About The Jones Group Inc.

The Jones Group Inc. ( is a leading global designer,
marketer and wholesaler of over 35 brands with product expertise in apparel,
footwear, jeanswear, jewelry and handbags. The Jones Group has a reputation
for innovation, excellence in product quality and value, operational execution
and talent. The Company also markets directly to consumers through branded
specialty retail and outlet stores, through concessions at upscale department
stores and through its e-commerce sites.

The Company's internationally recognized brands and licensing agreements (L)
include: Nine West, Jones New York, Anne Klein, Kurt Geiger, Rachel Roy (L),
Robert Rodriguez, Robbi & Nikki, Stuart Weitzman, Brian Atwood (L), Boutique
9, Easy Spirit, Carvela, Gloria Vanderbilt, l.e.i., Bandolino, Enzo Angiolini,
Nine & Co., GLO, Joan & David, Miss KG, Kasper, Energie, Evan-Picone, Le Suit,
Mootsies Tootsies, Grane, Erika, Napier, Jessica Simpson (L), Givenchy (L),
Judith Jack, Albert Nipon, Pappagallo and Rafe (L).

Additional Information and Where to Find It

This communication may be deemed to be solicitation material in respect of the
Company's 2013 annual meeting. In connection with the 2013 annual meeting,
the Company plans to file with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the
"SEC") and mail to its shareholders eligible to vote at the 2013 annual
meeting a definitive proxy statement. THE COMPANY ADVISES ITS SECURITY HOLDERS
IMPORTANT INFORMATION. Security holders may obtain a free copy of these
documents (once available) at the SEC's website at The
definitive proxy statement and these other documents may also be obtained free
of charge from the Company by contacting John McClain, The Jones Group Chief
Financial Officer, at (212) 703-9189 or Such documents are
not currently available.

Participants in Solicitation

The Company, its directors and certain of its executive officers may be deemed
to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from the Company's security
holders in connection with the Company's 2013 annual meeting. Security holders
may obtain information regarding the names, affiliations and interests of such
individuals in the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year
ended December 31, 2012, its Form 10-K/A dated April 30, 2013 and its
definitive proxy statement dated April 13, 2012, each of which has been filed
with the SEC. To the extent holdings of the Company's securities have changed
from the amounts included in the Form 10-K/A dated April 30,2013, such changes
have been or will be reflected on Statements of Change in Ownership on Forms 4
and 5 filed with the SEC and will be reflected in the definitive proxy
statement for the 2013 annual meeting. Additional information regarding such
individuals will be included in the definitive proxy statement for the 2013
annual meeting. These documents (once available) may be obtained free of
charge at the SEC's website at or from the Company by
contacting John McClain, The Jones Group Chief Financial Officer, at (212)
703-9189 or

SOURCE The Jones Group Inc.

Contact: The Jones Group Inc. Investors: John T. McClain, Chief Financial
Officer, The Jones Group, (212) 703-9189; Media Contacts: Joele Frank and
Sharon Stern, Joele Frank, Wilkinson Brimmer Katcher, (212) 355-4449;
Barington Capital Group, L.P. Contact: Jared Landaw, Chief Operating Officer
and General Counsel, Barington Capital Group, L.P., (212) 974-5713
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.