Comcast Awards $54,000 In Scholarships To Connecticut High School Seniors

  Comcast Awards $54,000 In Scholarships To Connecticut High School Seniors

Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program Recognizes Connecticut
Students for their Academic Achievement and Community Service

PR Newswire

HARTFORD, Conn., May 2, 2013

HARTFORD, Conn., May 2, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The Comcast Foundation, founded
in 1999 to provide charitable support to its local communities and to empower
and enrich lives, has awarded 45 Connecticut high school seniors scholarships
through its annual  Leaders and Achievers^®  Scholarship Program. The
program, one of the Comcast Foundation's signature community investment
programs, recognizes students' leadership skills, academic achievement and
commitment to community service.

Comcast, joined by government and elected officials, recognized the students
at a special event held at the Connecticut State Capitol today. Forty-four of
the 2013 Connecticut Leaders and Achievers recipients received $1,000
scholarships. One student was selected to receive a $10,000 Comcast Founders
Scholarship -instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman
Emeritus of Comcast Corporation. In total, Comcast awarded $54,000 worth of
scholarships in Connecticut this year.

"Comcast works to provide future leaders with opportunities to succeed in
higher education and, eventually, the competitive job market," said Mary
McLaughlin, senior vice president of Comcast's Western New England Region,
which includes Connecticut. "These students are role models in their
communities and at their schools. We commend them for their exceptional
achievements, and wish them the very best in their future endeavors."

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program provides one-time
$1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are
catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their
schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy
behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to be prepared
for the future, to engage youth in their communities, and to demonstrate the
importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by
the business community.

Since 2002, Comcast has awarded a total of $440,000 in Leaders & Achievers
Scholarships to 408 students in Connecticut. Since the program's inception,
more than $17.7 million in scholarship money has been presented to more than
17,000 scholarship winners nationwide. A list of the scholarship recipients
in Connecticut is featured below.

About the Comcast Foundation
The Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June 1999 to
provide charitable support to qualified non-profit organizations. The
Foundation primarily invests in programs intended to have a positive,
sustainable impact on their communities. The Foundation has three community
investment priorities — promoting community service, expanding digital
literacy, and building tomorrow's leaders. Since its inception, the Comcast
Foundation has donated over $116 million to organizations in the communities
nationwide that Comcast serves. More information about the Foundation and its
programs is available at

About Comcast Corporation
Comcast Corporation (Nasdaq: CMCSA, CMCSK) is a global media and technology
company with two primary businesses, Comcast Cable and NBCUniversal. Comcast
Cable is the nation's largest video, high-speed Internet and phone provider to
residential customers under the XFINITY brand and also provides these services
to businesses. NBCUniversal operates 30 news and entertainment cable
networks, the NBC and Telemundo broadcast networks, television production
operations, television station groups, Universal Pictures and Universal Parks
and Resorts. Visit for more information.

2013 Connecticut Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Recipients

First Name Last Name      Hometown      High School
Leanne     Aakjar         Bristol       Bristol Eastern High School
Ana        Alarcon        Hartford      Metropolitan Learning Center for
                                        Global & International Studies
Michael    Albergo        Guilford      Guilford High School
Catherine  Allegretti     Bolton        Bolton High School
Laura      Almonacid      Bethel        Bethel High School
Bailey     Amenabar       West Hartford Hall High School
Nicole     Arias          Clifton (NJ)  Academy of the Holy Family
Mary       Becker         Farmington    Northwest Catholic High
Ian        Chamenko       Beacon Falls  Woodland Regional High School
Shelby     Church         Clinton       The Morgan School
Allyson    Clark          Essex         Valley Regional High School
Andrew     Coburn         Middletown    Xavier High
Michael    Conlan         Seymour       Seymour High School
Eddy       Cordova        New Haven     New Haven Academy
Zachary    duBoulay       Westport      Hopkins School
Lauren     Eisenbeis      Pawcatuck     Stonington High School
Shanna     Figlewski      Wallingford   Lyman Hall High School
Ana        Filigrana      Wethersfield  Classical Magnet School
Amber      Gianni         Wolcott       Wolcott High School
Nicole     Hausherr       Killingworth  Haddam-Killingworth High School
Caley      Henderson      West Hartford Kingswood Oxford School
Cameron    Hotchkiss      West Haven    Notre Dame High
Stefania   Jarquin        West Haven    West Haven High School
Catherine  Kannam         Durham        Mercy High
Megan      Kimball        East Hampton  East Hampton High School
Shannon    Laccone        Waterbury     John F. Kennedy High School
Hunter     Marcisz        New Haven     High School In The Community
John       Mastroianni    Farmington    Farmington High School
Charles    Mojcik         Shelton       Shelton High School
Johanna    Moreno         New Britain   E. C. Goodwin V-T School
William    Moriarty       Tolland       Tolland High School
Dionne     Parker         Waterbury     Sacred Heart High School
Kwasiada   Robinson       New Haven     Riverside Educational Academy
Kelsey     Root           Old Saybrook  Old Saybrook Senior High School
Philip     Shattuck       Portland      Portland High School
Ndeye      Sylla          New Britain   New Britain High School
Kevin      Thompson       Wallingford   Mark T. Sheehan High School
Ayla       Toussaint      Westbrook     Westbrook High School
Gabrielle  Tudisca        Bozrah        Norwich Technical High School
Kelly      Turner         New Haven     Hill Regional Career High School
Abigail    Van Vlaenderen Lisbon        Norwich Free Academy
Ashley     Vanaman        Middlefield   Coginchaug Regional High School
Rashawn    Vassell        Bloomfield    Bloomfield High School
Simeon     Williams       Hartford      High School Inc. Insurance Finance
Sarah      Wiszniak       Plainville    Plainville High School

SOURCE Comcast Cable

Contact: Laura Brubaker Crisco, P: 860-505-3445,, or Jessica Forrest, P: 860-505-2049,
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.