Sampo Oyj : Decisions of Sampo plc's Annual General Meeting

         Sampo Oyj : Decisions of Sampo plc's Annual General Meeting



The Annual General Meeting of Sampo plc, held today, decided to distribute a
dividend of EUR 1.35 per share for 2012. The record date for dividend payment
is 23 April 2013. The dividend will be paid on 30 April 2013. The Annual
General Meeting adopted the financial accounts for 2012 and discharged the
Board of Directors and the Group CEO and President from liability for the
financial year.

The Annual General Meeting elected eight members of the Board decreasing the
number of the members by one. The following members were re-elected to the
Board of Directors: Anne Brunila, Adine Grate-Axén, Veli-Matti Mattila, Eira
Palin-Lehtinen, Per Arthur Sørlie, Matti Vuoria and Björn Wahlroos. Of the old
members Jukka Pekkarinen and Christoffer Taxell were not available for
re-election. Jannica Fagerholm was elected as a new Board member. The
curriculum vitaes of the Board Members are available at

At its organizational meeting, the Board elected Björn Wahlroos as Chairman
and Matti Vuoria as Vice Chairman. The following members were elected to the
Nomination and Compensation Committee: Veli-Matti Mattila, Eira
Palin-Lehtinen, Matti Vuoria, and Björn Wahlroos (Chairman). Anne Brunila
(Chairman), Jannica Fagerholm, Adine Grate Axén, and Per Arthur Sørlie were
elected to the Audit Committee.

All the proposed Board members are independent of the major shareholders and
all but Matti Vuoria are independent of the company. Matti Vuoria is the Chief
Executive Officer and President of Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company and
Sampo's Group Chief Executive Officer and President, Kari Stadigh, is a member
of Varma's Board of Directors. This constitutes an interlocking control
relationship according to recommendation 15 (e) of the Finnish Corporate
Governance Code. Majority of the proposed Board members are independent of
major shareholders and the company. The compositions of the Committees fulfill
the Finnish Corporate Governance Code's requirement for independence.

The Annual General Meeting decided to pay the following fees to the members of
the Board of Directors until the close of the 2014 Annual General Meeting: the
Chairman of the Board will be paid EUR 160,000 per year, the Vice Chairman EUR
100,000 per year and the other members EUR 80,000 per year. A Board member
shall in accordance with the resolution of the Annual General Meeting acquire
Sampo plc's A shares at the price paid in public trading for 50 per cent of
his/her annual fee excluding taxes and similar payments. The fees have
remained on the same level since year 2008.

Ernst & Young Oy was elected as Auditor. The Auditor will be paid a fee
determined by an invoice approved by the company. Heikki Ilkka, APA, was
re-elected as the principally responsible auditor.

The Annual General Meeting authorized the Board to acquire in one or several
lots a maximum of 50,000,000 Sampo A shares. Shares can be repurchased in
other proportion than the shareholders' proportional shareholdings (private
repurchase). The share price will be no higher than the highest price paid for
Sampo shares in public trading at the time of purchase. The authorization will
be valid until the close of the next Annual General Meeting, nevertheless not
more than 18 months after AGM's decision.

There were 2,491 shareholders represented at the meeting holding altogether
356,398,519 shares and 361,198,519 votes in the company. All decisions were
made without voting.

The proposals of the Board of Directors and its Nomination and Compensation
Committee and Audit Committee approved by the Annual General Meeting were
published in stock exchange releases on 13 February 2013. The Board proposals
are available in their entirety at

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting will be available for viewing at
Sampo plc's head office at Fabianinkatu 27, Helsinki, Finland, and at as from 2 May 2013 at the latest.


Jarmo Salonen
Head of Investor Relations and Group Communications

For additional information, please contact:

Jarmo Salonen
Head of Investor Relations and Group Communications
Tel. +358 10 516 0030

Maria Silander
Press Officer
Tel. +358 10 516 0031

Financial Supervisory Authority
The principal media


This announcement is distributed by Thomson Reuters on behalf of Thomson
Reuters clients.

The owner of this announcement warrants that:
(i) the releases contained herein are protected by copyright and other
applicable laws; and
(ii) they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and originality of
information contained therein.

Source: Sampo Oyj via Thomson Reuters ONE
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.