Breaking News

Tweet TWEET

Vale S.A. : Vale S.A. : Vale obtains operating permit for CLN 150

      Vale S.A. : Vale S.A. : Vale obtains operating permit for CLN 150

  Vale obtains operating permit for CLN 150





Rio de Janeiro, April  08, 2013 -  Vale S.A. (Vale) informs  that it has  been 
granted the operational license (LO) of Pier IV in the Ponta da Madeira  (PDM) 
maritime terminal  in the  state  of Maranhão,  Brazil,  issued by  the  state 
environmental authority (SEMA).  The LO encompasses  the onshore and  offshore 
parts of Pier IV.



The onshore part comprises two car  dumpers, two stockyards, one stacker,  two 
reclaimers and conveyor belts. The offshore  part contains the South berth  of 
Pier IV, an access bridge (1.6 km), a ship loader with the respective  loading 
line (16,000 tons per hour),  environmental monitoring system, a tugboat  pier 
and other equipment.



The LO represents a crucial step  of the logistical support towards growth  of 
the Carajás  iron  ore  production,  to  the extent  that  Vale  has  all  the 
environmental licenses required for the port operations of CLN 150.



CLN 150 allows  the expansion  of Carajás  logistics capacity  to 150  million 
metric tons of iron ore per year  (Mtpy), involving the duplication of 125  km 
of the Carajás railroad, and the construction of a rail terminal, in  addition 
to Pier IV of PDM.





                                                                             

                                      For further information, please contact:

                                                              +55-21-3814-4540

                     Roberto Castello Branco: roberto.castello.branco@vale.com

                                 Viktor Moszkowicz: viktor.moszkowicz@vale.com

                                    Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com

                                         Andrea Gutman: andrea.gutman@vale.com

                         Christian Perlingiere: christian.perlingiere@vale.com

                                      Marcelo Correa: marcelo.correa@vale.com

                                    Marcio Loures Penna: marcio.penna@vale.com

                                 Rafael Rondinelli: rafael.rondinelli@vale.com

                                         Samantha Pons: samantha.pons@vale.com

                                                                             

This press release  may include  statements that  present Vale's  expectations 
about future events or results.  All statements, when based upon  expectations 
about the  future and  not  on historical  facts,  involve various  risks  and 
uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove  correct. 
These risks and uncertainties  include factors related  to the following:  (a) 
the countries where we operate, especially  Brazil and Canada; (b) the  global 
economy; (c) the capital markets; (d)  the mining and metals prices and  their 
dependence on global industrial production,  which is cyclical by nature;  and 
(e) global  competition in  the  markets in  which  Vale operates.  To  obtain 
further information on factors that may  lead to results different from  those 
forecast by  Vale,  please  consult  the reports  Vale  files  with  the  U.S. 
Securities and Exchange  Commission (SEC), the  Brazilian Comissão de  Valores 
Mobiliários (CVM), the French Autorité  des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and  The 
Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited,  and in particular the factors  discussed 
under "Forward-Looking Statements" and "Risk Factors" in Vale's annual  report 
on Form 20-F.

Vale obtains operating permit for CLN 150

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This announcement is distributed by Thomson Reuters on behalf of Thomson
Reuters clients.

The owner of this announcement warrants that:
(i) the releases contained herein are protected by copyright and other
applicable laws; and
(ii) they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and originality of
the
information contained therein.

Source: Vale S.A. via Thomson Reuters ONE
HUG#1691420
 
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.