Bombardier Signs Variation Order as Partner and Supplier of Siemens in the Major Deutsche Bahn Project ICx

Bombardier Signs Variation Order as Partner and Supplier of Siemens in the 
Major Deutsche Bahn Project ICx 
BERLIN, GERMANY -- (Marketwired) -- 04/08/13 -- Rail technology
leader Bombardier Transportation announced today that it has signed a
variation order to develop and supply important components for the
next generation ICx high speed trains for Deutsche Bahn (DB AG) under
a framework agreement with Siemens AG signed in May 2011. DB AG
recently expanded its original order by an additional 170 coaches.
The variation order of March 2013 is worth approximately 336 million
euro ($440 million US) to Bombardier in addition to the original
order. 
Bombardier will supply Siemens with, among other components, all the
body shells as well as trailer bogies of the new ICx fleet.
Furthermore, Bombardier will carry out the final assembly of all end
coaches and of some intermediate coaches. 
The steel carbodies for the new high speed trains are optimised in
terms of aerodynamics and weight, enabling significant reductions in
energy consumption. They are being developed in the Bombardier
factory in Hennigsdorf and are being manufactured in Gorlitz. Project
management takes place at both sites. Hennigsdorf is responsible for
the final assembly of all ICx end coaches. Bombardier will also carry
out the final assembly of up to two intermediate coaches per train at
this site. 
The BOMBARDIER FLEXX Eco trailer bogies reduce vehicle weight, energy
consumption and noise emission. They are being supplied from the
Bombardier site in Siegen. The carbody production of the ICx will
start in the summer of 2013, final assembly in spring 2014. 
About Bombardier Transportation 
Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers
the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative
products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility.
BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of
energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect
the environment and help to improve total train performance for
operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered
in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with
products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed
base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide. 
About Bombardier 
Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and
trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is
evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient,
sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles,
services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global
leader in transportation. 
Bombardier is headquartered in Montreal, Canada. Our shares are
traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the
Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the
fiscal year ended December 31, 2012, we posted revenues of $16.8
billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or
follow us on Twitter @Bombardier. 
Note to Editors 
For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media
centre at: www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.  
Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. 
BOMBARDIER, FLEXX and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its
subsidiaries. 
FOR INFORMATION 


 
Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223                                  
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com                            
                                                                            
Canada: +1 450 441 3007                                                     
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com                      
                                                                            
China: +86 10 8517 2268                                                     
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com                          
                                                                            
France, Benelux and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38                         
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com                        
                                                                            
Germany, Austria, Switzerland,                                              
Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134                               
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com              
                                                                            
India: +91 7 838 660 093                                                    
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com                        
                                                                            
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714                                                    
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com                  
                                                                            
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213                                
Par Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com                     
                                                                            
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235                                              
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com                              
                                                                            
Southern Africa, Turkey and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147                       
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com                          
                                                                            
Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728                        
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com                          
                                                                            
UK and Middle East: +44 7785 450 065                                        
Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com                  
                                                                            
USA: +1 450 441 3007                                                        
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com              

Contacts:
Bombardier Transportation
www.theclimateisrightfortrains.com