SNC-Lavalin files management proxy circular for AGM and provides board renewal update

SNC-Lavalin files management proxy circular for AGM and provides board renewal 
MONTREAL, April 4, 2013 /CNW Telbec/ - SNC-Lavalin (TSX: SNC) announces that 
it has filed its management proxy circular for its Annual and Special Meeting 
of shareholders (the "AGM") to be held on May 2, 2013, with the Canadian 
securities regulators via the SEDAR website ( The circular 
contains an update on the continuing board renewal process announced by the 
Company at the end of last year. All candidates the Company is proposing for 
election as directors at the upcoming AGM would qualify as independent 
directors, other than the President and CEO. 
Following the decision of current Chairman, Gwyn Morgan, to retire from 
SNC-Lavalin's Board at the 2013 AGM, the Company's Corporate Governance 
Committee has recommended to the Board that Ian A. Bourne be appointed 
Chairman immediately following the AGM. 
Mr. Bourne began his career in finance at General Electric Canada in 1969, 
where he held a number of senior positions, including that of Vice-President, 
Finance. He subsequently served as CFO of Canada Post Corporation, and in 1998 
became CFO of TransAlta Corporation. He was concurrently appointed President 
and Director of TransAlta Power LP, a position he held until his retirement in 
2006. Mr. Bourne has been a director of SNC-Lavalin since 2009, and is 
currently Vice-Chairman of its Board. He was Interim CEO of the Company and, 
upon the appointment of Robert G. Card as President and CEO in 2012, became 
Chairman of its Audit Committee. 
As announced on December 13, 2012, the Board of Directors initiated a process 
to recruit qualified, dedicated and independent candidates for nomination to 
the Board of Directors at the 2013 AGM. The Corporation engaged an 
international executive search firm to assist with this process, and the 
Governance Committee considered numerous qualified and experienced director 
candidates and consulted with key stakeholders as part of a thorough and 
extensive vetting and selection process. As a result of this process, three 
new independent director nominees will be standing for election at the 2013 
The continuing renewal of the Board follows the additions made in 2012 of 
independent directors Eric Siegel and Chakib Sbiti, as well as President and 
CEO, Robert G. Card, each of whom is also standing for election as a director 
at the upcoming AGM. The proposed new director nominees are: 

    --  Jacques Bougie: Mr. Bougie joined Alcan in 1979 and held
        various positions in the fields of major project development,
        planning and general management. He became President and Chief
        Operating Officer of Alcan in 1989, a position he held until
        1993, when he was appointed President and CEO. The Company
        believes that Mr. Bougie's background as an accomplished
        executive will provide additional leadership to the Board,
        while his industry-specific and operational expertise will
        further enhance the Board's skill set, and his experiences as a
        director of various prominent Canadian corporations will add
        depth and a wealth of business and operational knowledge to the
    --  Lise Lachapelle: Mrs. Lachapelle was President and Chief
        Executive Officer of the Forest Products Association of Canada
        from 1994 until 2002. She is a former President of Strategico
        Inc., a consulting firm specializing in public policies, and a
        former Senior Vice-President of the Montreal Stock Exchange. 
        She also acted as Assistant Deputy Minister in the Federal
        Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce. The Company
        believes that Mrs. Lachapelle's impressive background in public
        policy and global business, her significant industry-specific
        expertise and knowledge, as well as her various public board
        memberships, will assist in the development of the Company's
        international operations and in maintaining and continuously
        improving its governance systems and practices.
    --  Alain Rhéaume: Co-founder and Managing Partner of Trio Capital
        Inc. (a private investment management company), Mr. Rhéaume has
        over 25 years of senior management experience in the private
        and public sectors. He worked for the Ministry of Finance of
        the Quebec Government from 1974 to 1996, acting from 1988 to
        1992 as Associate Deputy Minister, and from 1992 to 1996 as
        Deputy Minister. From 1996 to 2005, he was involved in the
        development of Microcell Telecommunications, a Canadian mobile
        operator commercializing the Fido brand, first as Chief
        Financial Officer, and then as President and Chief Operating
        Officer. The Company believes that Mr. Rhéaume's diverse
        professional experiences as CFO of a publicly listed company,
        as Deputy Minister of Finance for the Province of Quebec, his
        other executive roles and positions held within government and
        the corporate sector, as well as his other Board memberships,
        will reinforce the Board's existing expertise in finance,
        accounting and risk management.

"The goal of this ongoing process is to recruit highly qualified, dedicated 
and independent candidates who possess the reputation, experience and 
expertise to adapt to the evolving needs of the Company and its shareholders," 
said Messrs. Bourne and Morgan in a joint statement. "These director nominees 
certainly meet this goal."

In addition to Mr. Morgan, three other current directors, David Goldman, 
Pierre H. Lessard and Edythe A. Marcoux, will retire at the 2013 AGM.

"I would like to especially thank the retiring directors for having served the 
Company with diligence, commitment and integrity over many years," said Mr. 
Bourne. "I want to express the Board's gratitude to our retiring Chairman, 
Gwyn Morgan, who has led the Board of Directors since 2007. I would also like 
to personally thank Gwyn for all his support over the past year."

"I would like to commend all of my fellow directors for their effort and 
determination, particularly in the past year, to keep this great Company 
heading in the right direction," added Mr. Morgan. "I express my fullest 
gratitude to our retiring directors and firmly believe that the ongoing Board 
renewal process has provided some excellent new candidates for the 2013 slate."

SNC-Lavalin is one of the leading engineering and construction groups in the 
world and a major player in the ownership of infrastructure, and in the 
provision of operations and maintenance services. Founded in 1911, SNC-Lavalin 
has offices across Canada and in over 40 other countries around the world, and 
is currently working in some 100 countries.

Media: Leslie Quinton Senior Vice-President, Global Corporate Communications 
SNC-Lavalin Group Inc. 514-390-8000, ext. 7354

Investors: Denis Jasmin Vice-President, Investor Relations SNC-Lavalin Group 
Inc. 514-390-8000, ext. 7553 


To view this news release in HTML formatting, please use the following URL:

ST: Quebec

-0- Apr/04/2013 12:30 GMT

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.