Vale S.A. : Vale S.A. : Vale lifts force majeure on coal shipments in Mozambique

    Vale S.A. : Vale S.A. : Vale lifts force majeure on coal shipments in
                                  Mozambique

Vale lifts force majeure on coal shipments in Mozambique

Rio de Janeiro, March 20, 2013 - Vale S.A. (Vale) informs that effective today
it has lifted force majeure  (FM) on a number of  its coal sales contracts  in 
Mozambique. FM  was declared  on February  15, 2013  following heavy  rainfall 
since early February in Tete,  Mozambique, creating serious challenges to  the 
Linha do  Sena railway,  thus  impacting shipments  of metallurgical  coal  at 
approximately 500,000 metric tons.

                                      For further information, please contact:
                                                              +55-21-3814-4540
                     Roberto Castello Branco: roberto.castello.branco@vale.com
                                 Viktor Moszkowicz: viktor.moszkowicz@vale.com
                                    Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com
                                         Andrea Gutman: andrea.gutman@vale.com
                         Christian Perlingiere: christian.perlingiere@vale.com
                              Marcelo Bonança Correa: marcelo.correa@vale.com
                                    Marcio Loures Penna: marcio.penna@vale.com
                                         Samantha Pons: samantha.pons@vale.com

This press release  may include  statements that  present Vale's  expectations 
about future events or results.  All statements, when based upon  expectations 
about the  future and  not  on historical  facts,  involve various  risks  and 
uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove  correct. 
These risks and uncertainties  include factors related  to the following:  (a) 
the countries where we operate, especially  Brazil and Canada; (b) the  global 
economy; (c) the capital markets; (d)  the mining and metals prices and  their 
dependence on global industrial production,  which is cyclical by nature;  and 
(e) global  competition in  the  markets in  which  Vale operates.  To  obtain 
further information on factors that may  lead to results different from  those 
forecast by  Vale,  please  consult  the reports  Vale  files  with  the  U.S. 
Securities and Exchange  Commission (SEC), the  Brazilian Comissão de  Valores 
Mobiliários (CVM), the French Autorité  des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and  The 
Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited,  and in particular the factors  discussed 
under "Forward-Looking Statements" and "Risk Factors" in Vale's annual  report 
on Form 20-F.

Vale lifts force majeure on coal shipments in Mozambique

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This announcement is distributed by Thomson Reuters on behalf of Thomson
Reuters clients.

The owner of this announcement warrants that:
(i) the releases contained herein are protected by copyright and other
applicable laws; and
(ii) they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and originality of
the
information contained therein.

Source: Vale S.A. via Thomson Reuters ONE
HUG#1688354
 
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.