The Advertising Research Foundation Announces David Ogilvy Awards and Great Mind Awards

  The Advertising Research Foundation Announces David Ogilvy Awards and Great
  Mind Awards

           Both Prizes Celebrate Excellence in Advertising Research

   P&G Takes Home Gold For Olympic Effort; Media6Degrees Named “Great Mind
                              Innovation” Winner

Re:think 2013

Business Wire

NEW YORK -- March 25, 2013

The Advertising Research Foundation held its two most prestigious awards
ceremonies, the ARF David Ogilvy Awards and the ARF Great Mind Awards, at last
week’s Re:think 2013, the nation's leading advertising research conference.

The ARF David Ogilvy Awards, named for advertising legend David Ogilvy, honor
the critical role of consumer research in creating successful marketing
campaigns. The ARF Great Mind Awards pay tribute to the past year’s most
innovative, successful and promising advertising research programs.

The 2013 ARF Grand Ogilvy Award was handed to Procter & Gamble for its “Thank
You Mom” campaign in support of its London 2012 Olympics sponsorship. The
campaign was designed to unite P&G and its brands behind the global Olympic
sponsorship—the biggest initiative in the company’s history—with a
heartwarming message.

The Ogilvy Grand Award for Research Achievement was won by ConAgra Foods for
its Slim Jim “Man Medicine” campaign. The program introduced consumers to the
Slim Jim Center for Spice Loss, and succeeded in attracting an older audience,
while still delivering the irreverent humor that a much younger audience
expects from the brand.

The award for Research Innovation was given to The Clorox Company for its
“Stronger Stand Against Waste” campaign for Glad. The campaign focused on
trash bags’ impact on the environment and the difference that just one
person’s actions can make.

“The ARF Ogilvy Awards celebrate David Ogilvy’s spirited advocacy of research
making good advertising better, and recognizing the role of consumer research
in creating successful advertising. All of this year’s winners embody the
spirit of creativity and innovation, which was exemplified by the great
advertiser for which this prestigious award is named,” said Bob Barocci, CEO
of the ARF. “We are thrilled to honor such inspirational advertising

The list of all the 2013 Ogilvy Awards can be found here:

The ARF Great Mind Awards honor research innovation, rising research stars,
outstanding ARF member contributions, quality in research, and lifetime
achievement within the industry. This year’s winners were chosen from more
than 200 entries.

John Dimling, chairman of Nielsen Media Research and chairman, board of
directors of Net Ratings, Inc., received the Lifetime Achievement Award, along
with Bob Barocci, who is retiring this year as CEO of the ARF.

The Grand Winner of the Great Mind Innovation award was Claudia Perlich,

The Grand Winner of the Quality in Research Award was The Palmerston Group and
Cole & Weber United for its campaign, Project Butterfly: Escaping the Net.

The ARF’s Journal of Advertising Research publishes approximately 50 papers
annually, from which it selected two winners of its “Best Paper” award: “How
Validation Can Trump Digital Waste and Generate Value across the Digital
Advertising Ecosystem,” authored by Linda Boland Abraham, Anne Hunter, and
Andrea Vollman, all of comScore, Inc.; and “Sending Viral Content: How the
Quality of a Viral Message Drives the Diffusion of Online Videos,” authored by
Yuping Liu-Tompkins, Old Dominion University.

The Grand Winner of the GfK Next Generation Award was  Aurora University for
its research project, “Exploring Uncharted Territories: Addressing the
Emerging Hispanic Market.”

The President’s Award winners were: Crystal Barnes, Nielsen; Kelle Coleman,
Nielsen; Justine Faeth, ESPN; Lauren George, CBS; Tamara Hood, Viacom Media
Networks; Leah McTiernan, Ipsos; Frances Quattrocki, comScore, Inc.; Kyle
Rondeau, Arbitron, Inc.; Becarren Schultz, Ameritest; Nicole Tomei Zwolinski,
GfK; Kelly Weikes, Millward Brown; and Jill Wiltfong, Ipsos.

The ARF also recognizes the next generation of promising researchers through
its Rising Star award. This year’s grand winner was Jenny Vandehey of SMG.

The organization honored four members for helping maintain the balance and
integrity of the ARF community. This year’s ARF Member Ambassadors of the Year
are Gian Fulgoni (comScore, Inc.), Christian Kugel (AOL), John LaRocca
(dunnhumbyUSA), and Tjun Wong (Shire).

The list of all the 2013 Great Mind Awards is here:

About the Advertising Research Foundation (ARF):

Founded in 1936 by the Association of National Advertisers and the American
Association of Advertising Agencies, the ARF is dedicated to aggregating,
creating and distributing research-based knowledge that will help members make
better advertising decisions. ARF members include more than 400 advertisers,
advertising agencies, associations, research firms, and media companies. The
ARF is the only organization that brings all members of the industry to the
same table for strategic collaboration. The ARF celebrates more than 75 years
as the industry's authoritative source of advertising knowledge. The ARF is
located at 432 Park Ave. South, 6th Floor, New York, NY 10016 and on the Web


The Advertising Research Foundation
Frank Tortorici, 908-233-6888
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.