AgigA Tech Named Edison Award Finalist

  AgigA Tech Named Edison Award Finalist

AGIGARAM^® Non-Volatile Memory to be Recognized at Edison Awards Gala on April
                                25 in Chicago

Business Wire

SAN DIEGO -- February 22, 2013

AgigA Tech Inc., a subsidiary of Cypress Semiconductor Corp. (NASDAQ: CY) and
a leading provider of high-speed, high-density, battery-free non-volatile
memory solutions has been named a 2013 Award Finalist by the internationally
renowned Edison Awards™. AgigA Tech’s flagship product, AGIGARAM^®
Non-Volatile Memory, is a Finalist for IT/Computing Solutions in the
Electronics & Computers category, one of twelve categories honored by the
Edison Awards. The distinguished awards symbolize the persistence and
excellence personified by Thomas Alva Edison, inspiring creative minds to
remain in the forefront of innovation, creativity and ingenuity in the global

“More than any year, this year's slate of Finalists demonstrate the enormous
value of teamwork, experimentation, consumer focus, market awareness and
game-changing success,” said Frank Bonafilia, Edison Awards’ executive
director. “It’s exciting to see companies like AgigA Tech continuing Thomas
Edison’s legacy of challenging conventional thinking.”

“AGIGARAM is a new class of non-volatile memory providing the speed of DRAM
with the persistence of flash, enabling breakthrough performance improvements
for enterprise computing systems” said Ron Sartore, CEO of AgigA Tech. “We are
particularly honored to be recognized as a finalist for an award whose
namesake epitomizes innovation, creativity and ingenuity.”

The ballot of nominees for the Edison Awards is judged by more than 3,000
senior business executives and academics from across the nation whose votes
acknowledge the Finalists’ success in meeting the award criteria of Concept,
Value, Delivery and Impact. The Panel includes members of the Marketing
Executives Networking Group (MENG), the American Association Advertising
Agencies (4As), the Chief Marketing Officer Council (CMO), the Design
Management Institute (DMI), the American Productivity & Quality Center (APQC),
the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the Association of
Technology Management & Applied Engineering (ATMAE). Also on the Panel are
hundreds of past Edison Award winners, marketing professionals, scientists,
designers, engineers and academics.

Award winners will be announced April 25, 2013 at the Edison Awards Annual
Gala, held in the Grand Ballroom at the historic Navy Pier in Chicago, IL.

The Edison Awards is a program conducted by Edison Universe, a 501(c)(3)
charitable organization dedicated to fostering future innovators. The 2013
Edison Awards are sponsored by Nielsen, Discovery Communications, Science
Channel, and USA Today.

For more information about the Edison Awards, Edison Universe and a list of
past winners, visit


AGIGARAM is a new class of non-volatile memory developed to meet the need for
higher-density, higher-performance memory for enterprise-class storage and
server applications. By combining industry-standard DRAM and NAND Flash
technology, AGIGARAM provides the low latency and nearly infinite endurance of
DRAM, along with the non-volatility of Flash. During normal operation,
AGIGARAM appears to the host system as a standard JEDEC DRAM memory module. In
the event of an unexpected power loss, the critical data residing in the DRAM
is saved to onboard NAND Flash using a battery-free power source based on
ultracapacitors. When power is returned, the in-memory state of the DRAM at
the time power was lost is restored from the Flash. The recovery time from a
catastrophic power-loss event is almost immediate since the restore operation
takes a matter of seconds and recharging the ultracapacitors takes only
minutes. AGIGARAM is designed to integrate easily into the DIMM slots of
industry-standard server and storage platforms, providing fast persistent
memory for use cases such as write caching, metadata storage and other
in-memory computing applications.

About AgigA Tech, Inc.

Headquartered in San Diego, California, AgigA Tech is a leading developer of
high-speed, high-density, battery-free non-volatile memory solutions. The
company's flagship AGIGARAM^® product family represents a new class of
non-volatile memory created to address the fundamental need for
higher-density, higher-performance memory in enterprise-class applications.
AGIGARAM integrates NAND Flash, DRAM and an ultracapacitor power source into
an innovative, highly-reliable non-volatile memory subsystem that can deliver
unlimited read/write performance at the fastest DRAM speeds, while also safely
backing up all data when power is interrupted. AgigA Tech is a subsidiary of
Cypress Semiconductor Corp. The company’s products are available worldwide
through the Cypress sales force and its distributor partners. More information
on the company is available at

About Cypress

Cypress delivers high-performance, mixed-signal, programmable solutions that
provide customers with rapid time-to-market and exceptional system value.
Cypress offerings include the flagship PSoC 1, PSoC 3, and PSoC 5 programmable
system-on-chip families and derivatives, CapSense touch sensing and TrueTouch
solutions for touchscreens. Cypress is the world leader in USB controllers,
including the high-performance West Bridge solution that enhances connectivity
and performance in multimedia handsets, PCs and tablets. Cypress is also the
world leader in SRAM memories. Cypress serves numerous markets including
consumer, mobile handsets, computation, data communications, automotive,
industrial and military. Cypress trades on the NASDAQ Global Select Market
under the ticker symbol CY. Visit Cypress online at

AGIGA, AGIGARAM, AGIGACAP and PowerGEM are registered trademarks of AgigA
Tech, Inc. Cypress, the Cypress logo, TrueTouch, PSoC, CapSense, PowerPSoC,
and West Bridge are registered trademarks of Cypress Semiconductor Corp. All
other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.


Cypress Public Relations
Don Parkman, 408-943-4885
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.