First Niagara Strengthens Presence in NY Metro Area With the Formation of New Tri-State Region

First Niagara Strengthens Presence in NY Metro Area With the Formation of New
Tri-State Region

Region Includes Lower Hudson Valley, Fairfield County and Northern New Jersey

NYACK, N.Y., Feb. 6, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Building on the success of its
entry last year into the Hudson Valley region, First Niagara has announced the
formation of its new Tri-State Region, which includes markets in Lower Hudson
Valley, Fairfield County, CT and Northern New Jersey.

The central office for the Tri-State Region will be located in Nyack, NY,
where First Niagara currently operates a branch office, and will be supported
by its regional office in Norwalk, CT, which will continue to serve Fairfield
County customers. Current centers of operations in New Haven, Hartford, and
Manchester, CT – part of First Niagara's New England Region – will remain the

The new Tri-State Region offers significant growth opportunities for First
Niagara's commercial lending business in particular. The three markets in the
region have a high concentration of large firms in the manufacturing,
healthcare and other industries with substantial capital requirements.

"The Tri-State market provides an exciting opportunity to better serve retail
customers and expand our commercial lending business across this newly
organized market footprint," said David V. Ring, Managing Director of
Enterprise Banking for First Niagara.Ring noted that

First Niagara is conducting a search for a Tri-State Regional President and is
recruiting to fill key regional leadership positions. 

In addition to the new Tri-State Region, First Niagara's other geographic
regions and markets include Upstate New York (Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse,
Albany); Western Pennsylvania (Pittsburgh, Erie); Southeastern Pennsylvania
(Metro Philadelphia, Lehigh Valley and Delaware, Chester, Berks, Montgomery
and Bucks Counties), and New England (Greater Boston, New Haven, Hartford and

Last May, First Niagara completed the conversion of Upstate New York and
Connecticut branches acquired from HSBC Bank USA, with the bank opening more
than 100 former HSBC branches as First Niagara branches. First Niagara added
more than 1,200 employees, including more than 250 in the Hudson Valley, and
more than 500,000 new customers across New York and Connecticut.

In the Hudson Valley, First Niagara has 26 branches from Ulster to Westchester
Counties. Branches are located in the following communities: (Westchester)
Mount Kisco, Bedford Hills, Ossining, Yorktown Heights and Baldwin Place;
(Dutchess) East Fishkill, Millerton, Hyde Park, Wappingers Falls, Pleasant
Valley and Poughkeepsie; (Orange) Highland Falls, Middletown and Vails Gate;
(Putnam) Brewster; (Rockland) Blauvelt, Pearl River, New City, Nyack, Nanuet,
Spring Valley, Stony Point, Suffern and Tappan; (Sullivan) Liberty; and
(Ulster) Kingston.

About First Niagara

First Niagara, through its wholly owned subsidiary, First Niagara Bank, N.A.,
is a multi-state community-oriented bank with nearly 430 branches,
approximately $38 billion in assets, $29 billion in deposits, and
approximately 6,000 employees providing financial services to individuals,
families and businesses across Upstate New York, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and
Massachusetts. For more information, visit

CONTACT: Karen Crane
         Communications Manager
         (203) 789-2752
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.