CME Group Inc. Names Slate of Director Nominees and Announces its Plan to Implement a Majority Vote Standard

  CME Group Inc. Names Slate of Director Nominees and Announces its Plan to
                      Implement a Majority Vote Standard

PR Newswire

CHICAGO, Jan. 31, 2013

CHICAGO, Jan. 31, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- CME Group today announced its slate of
candidates for election to serve on the company's board of directors. CME
Group shareholders will vote for directors at the company's annual meeting to
be held Wednesday, May 22, 2013.

The Board also agreed to move forward with the adoption of a majority voting
standard and plans to formally adopt amendments to its Bylaws and Corporate
Governance Principles prior to its 2013 annual meeting.

"Today's action is the latest in a series of steps we have taken to further
strengthen CME Group's corporate governance practices," said Terry Duffy,
Executive Chairman & President, CME Group. "Our move to declassify the Board
effective in 2014 and the expiration of our shareholder rights plan
demonstrate our commitment to corporate governance."

The Class A and Class B shareholders voting together will elect nine
candidates to the board. Additionally, the Class B-1 and Class B-3
shareholders will each elect a candidate to the board.

The following candidates will be elected by the Class A and Class B
shareholders voting together:

  oTerrence A. Duffy, 54, Executive Chairman and President, CME Group
  oCharles P. Carey, 59, Former Vice Chairman, CME Group; Partner, Henning
    and Carey Trading
  oMark E. Cermak, 61, Director, Execution Services, ABN AMRO Clearing
  oMartin J. Gepsman, 60, Independent Broker and Trader
  oLeo Melamed, 80, Chairman Emeritus, CME Group; Chairman and Chief
    Executive Officer, Melamed and Associates, Inc. 
  oJoseph Niciforo, 52, Principal, Henning and Carey Trading
  oC.C. Odom II, 70, Independent Member/Trader; Sole Proprietor, Odom
    Investments and Argent Venture Capital
  oJack F. Sandner, 71, Retired Chairman of the Board, CME Group; Chairman,
    E*Trade Futures, LLC
  oDennis H. Suskind, 70, Retired Partner, Goldman Sachs & Co.

One candidate from each of the following Class B-1 and Class B-3 nominees will
be elected to the Board.

Nominees for Class B-1 director are:

  oPaul J. Heffernan, 53, Independent Trader
  oHoward J. Siegel, 56, Independent Trader

Nominees for Class B-3 director are:

  oPeter Kosanovich, 41, Managing Member, Brisbane Brokerage, LLC; Thorntree
    Enterprises, LLC; and Trean Group, LLC
  oSteve Wollack, 70, Independent Trader, attorney and expert witness in
    futures industry

As the world's leading and most diverse derivatives marketplace, CME Group
( is where the world comes to manage risk. CME Group
exchanges offer the widest range of global benchmark products across all major
asset classes, including futures and options based on interest rates, equity
indexes, foreign exchange, energy, agricultural commodities, metals, weather
and real estate.CME Group brings buyers and sellers together through its CME
Globex^® electronic trading platform and its trading facilities in New York
and Chicago. CME Group also operates CME Clearing, one of the world's leading
central counterparty clearing providers, which offers clearing and settlement
services across asset classes for exchange-traded contracts and
over-the-counter derivatives transactions. These products and services ensure
that businesses everywhere can substantially mitigate counterparty credit

CME Group is a trademark of CME Group Inc. The Globe Logo, CME, Globex and
Chicago Mercantile Exchange are trademarks of Chicago Mercantile Exchange
Inc. CBOT and the Chicago Board of Trade are trademarks of the Board of Trade
of the City of Chicago, Inc. NYMEX, New York Mercantile Exchange and
ClearPort are registered trademarks of New York Mercantile Exchange, Inc.
COMEX is a trademark of Commodity Exchange, Inc. All other trademarks are the
property of their respective owners. Further information about CME Group
(NASDAQ: CME) and its products can be found at



Contact: Media - Anita Liskey, +1-312-466-4613, or William Parke,
+1-312-930-3467; Investor - John Peschier, +1-312-930-8491,,
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.