Vale S.A. : Vale S.A. :Vale proposes US$ 4 billion for 2013 minimum dividend

 Vale S.A. : Vale S.A. :Vale proposes US$ 4 billion for 2013 minimum dividend

Rio de  Janeiro,  January 28,  2013  - Vale  S.A.  (Vale) announces  that  its 
Executive Board  has approved  and will  submit to  the Board  of Directors  a 
proposal for the distribution of a minimum dividend of US$ 4 billion in  2013, 
equivalent to US$ 0.776190372 per share  for both common and preferred  shares 
outstanding, to be distributed  in two installments, on  April 30 and  October 
31, 2013.



The Board of  Directors will  evaluate the  proposal submitted  by the  senior 
management, regarding each installment, in the meetings scheduled for April 16
and October 17, 2013.



If the proposal is  approved by our  Board of Directors,  the payment of  each 
installment will be made  in Brazilian reais, calculated  on the basis of  the 
Brazilian real/US dollar  exchange rate  (Ptax -  option 5)  published by  the 
Central Bank of Brazil  on the business  day prior to  the Board of  Directors 
meeting that approves the dividend proposal.



The proposed minimum dividend is consistent with Vale's financial policy,
which aims to provide a strong support to the exploitation of profitable
growth opportunities alongside the preservation of a sound balance sheet
simultaneously with the focus on discipline in capital allocation.





                                                                             

                                                                             

                                      For further information, please contact:

                                                              +55-21-3814-4540

                     Roberto Castello Branco: roberto.castello.branco@vale.com

                                 Viktor Moszkowicz: viktor.moszkowicz@vale.com

                                    Carla Albano Miller: carla.albano@vale.com

                                         Andrea Gutman: andrea.gutman@vale.com

                         Christian Perlingiere: christian.perlingiere@vale.com

                                      Marcelo Correa: marcelo.correa@vale.com

                                    Marcio Loures Penna: marcio.penna@vale.com

                                 Rafael Rondinelli: rafael.rondinelli@vale.com

                                         Samantha Pons: samantha.pons@vale.com

                                                                             

This press release  may include  statements that  present Vale's  expectations 
about future events or results.  All statements, when based upon  expectations 
about the  future and  not  on historical  facts,  involve various  risks  and 
uncertainties. Vale cannot guarantee that such statements will prove  correct. 
These risks and uncertainties  include factors related  to the following:  (a) 
the countries where we operate, especially  Brazil and Canada; (b) the  global 
economy; (c) the capital markets; (d)  the mining and metals prices and  their 
dependence on global industrial production,  which is cyclical by nature;  and 
(e) global  competition in  the  markets in  which  Vale operates.  To  obtain 
further information on factors that may  lead to results different from  those 
forecast by  Vale,  please  consult  the reports  Vale  files  with  the  U.S. 
Securities and Exchange  Commission (SEC), the  Brazilian Comissão de  Valores 
Mobiliários (CVM), the French Autorité  des Marchés Financiers (AMF), and  The 
Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited,  and in particular the factors  discussed 
under "Forward-Looking Statements" and "Risk Factors" in Vale's annual  report 
on Form 20-F.

Vale proposes US$ 4 billion for 2013 minimum dividend

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This announcement is distributed by Thomson Reuters on behalf of Thomson
Reuters clients.

The owner of this announcement warrants that:
(i) the releases contained herein are protected by copyright and other
applicable laws; and
(ii) they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and originality of
the
information contained therein.

Source: Vale S.A. via Thomson Reuters ONE
HUG#1674340