Canadian Whisky Brings Home the Gold

VICTORIA, Jan. 18, 2013 /CNW/ - Canadian whisky maker, John K. Hall makes the 
best whisky in Canada. That's the verdict of seven independent whisky experts 
who awarded Hall the coveted Canadian Whisky of the Year Award at the third 
annual Canadian Whisky Awards. Results of the annual blind tasting competition 
were announced Thursday evening at the Victoria Whisky Festival in Victoria, 
Forty Creek Port Wood Reserve, a three-time winner, was also named Connoisseur 
Whisky of the Year in multiple markets, along with winning a gold medal. In 
announcing the awards, Chairman of the Judges, Davin de Kergommeaux, dubbed it 
"the best whisky yet from Forty Creek Distillery." 
Other top winners included Gibson's Finest Rare 18 year old, and Canadian 
Rockies 21 year old. 
The awards also recognized the 2012, flavoured whisky phenomenon. All of the 
major whisky makers have moved to address the growing demand for flavoured 
whiskies with Gibson's, Forty Creek, and Kruger Wine and Spirits being given 
particular mention. 
Awards of Excellence were given to Kruger Wine and Spirits for Sortilège, 
Diageo for Crown Royal Maple, and Beam Inc. for Alberta Premium Dark Horse. 
"What a year to be a whisky lover," said de Kergommeaux as he introduced the 
winners. "Canadian producers have really upped their game and we see the 
results here tonight." Canadian whisky sales were up four percent in 2012 and 
we've had double-digit growth in sales of high-end Canadian Connoisseur 
whiskies," de Kergommeaux continued, "The time has come to recognize the 
excellent quality of Canadian whisky." 
A complete list of the winners is available at 
Note to editors: 
About the Canadian Whisky Awards 
Each year the Canadian Whisky Awards recognize the very best Canadian whiskies 
and encourage distillers to maintain the highest standards for making whisky. 
To be eligible, whiskies must be distilled and matured in Canada. An 
independent panel of whisky writers, bloggers, and journalists selects the 
winners after blind tasting each whisky. Operated on a not-for-profit basis, 
the Canadian Whisky Awards are fully independent of the Canadian whisky 
Davin de Kergommeaux (613) 563-0254 
Image with caption: "Whisky Maker, John K. Hall accepted the award for 
Canadian Whisky of the Year at the 2012 Canadian Whisky Awards in Victoria. 
Forty Creek Port Wood Reserve was selected from 60 entries by a panel of eight 
whisky experts. Left to right - John Hall, Davin de Kergommeaux. (CNW 
Group/Canadian Whisky Awards)". Image available at: 
SOURCE: Canadian Whisky Awards 
To view this news release in HTML formatting, please use the following URL: 
CO: Canadian Whisky Awards
ST: Ontario
-0- Jan/18/2013 08:59 GMT
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.