Bill O'Brien Of Penn State Named 2012 Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach Of The Year

  Bill O'Brien Of Penn State Named 2012 Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach Of The Year

PR Newswire

HOUSTON, Jan. 18, 2013

HOUSTON, Jan. 18, 2013 /PRNewswire/ --Bill O'Brien of Penn State takes the
2012 Coach of the Year title at the Marathon Oil Corporation Paul "Bear"
Bryant Awards, which raises funds annually for the American Heart


The Coach of the Year winner is selected each year by the National
Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and announced live at the awards
dinner. The award recognizes excellence in coaching both on and off the field
while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke for the American Heart

"This is a huge honor for the Penn State program and the kids that stuck with
us, [along with] the coaches and staff. I've only done this for one year and
what this says to me is that we have a fantastic coaching staff," said

Named the Nittany Lions' 15^th head football coach in early 2012, O'Brien
quickly and effectively established the foundation for the new era of Penn
State Football during his initial eight months on the job. Penn State capped
its remarkable season with a 24-21 overtime victory over eventual Big Ten
Champion Wisconsin on an emotional Senior Day, with 31 committed and dedicated
seniors introduced before the game.

O'Brien's eight wins were the most by a first-year Penn State coach in the 126
years of the program and led to a plethora of accolades for his leadership,
coaching acumen and commitment under unprecedented conditions.

The engaging, detail-oriented and intense O'Brien spent 14 years coaching
college football at Brown, Georgia Tech, Maryland and Duke before spending
five highly-successful years as part of the NFL New England Patriots' staff.

The finalists competing with O'Brien for the Coach of the Year Award included:
James Franklin of Vanderbilt, Urban Meyer of The Ohio State, David Shaw of
Stanford, Bill Snyder of Kansas State and Kevin Sumlin of Texas A&M.

The 27^th annual event also recognized LaVell Edwards, former Brigham Young
University coach and 7^th all time winningest coach in Division I football
history. Recent Lifetime Achievement recipients include Hayden Fry, Tom
Osborne, Barry Switzer, Bo Schembechler and Bobby Bowden.

Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of
the American Heart Association. For more information, contact 713-610-5000 or

American Heart Association
The American Heart Association is the nation's oldest and largest voluntary
health organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. Our
mission is to build healthier lives by preventing, treating and defeating
these diseases – America's No. 1 and No. 4 killers. We fund cutting-edge
research, conduct lifesaving public and professional educational programs, and
advocate to protect public health. To learn more or join us in helping all
Americans, call 1-800-AHA-USA1 or visit

Marathon Oil Corporation
Marathon Oil is an independent international energy company. Based in Houston,
Texas, Marathon Oil had net proved reserves at the end of 2011 of 1.8 billion
barrels of oil equivalent in North America, Europe and Africa. For more
information, please visit the Company's website at

The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association  is the largest
national association that focuses on the crafts of both sportscasting and
sportswriting. The association, with its headquarters in Salisbury, N.C.,
honors the National Sportscaster of the Year and the National Sportswriter of
the Year.

Media Contact: Shelly Millwee
American Heart Association

SOURCE American Heart Association

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.