Gulf Restoration Groups Praise Historic Settlement for Oil Spill

       Gulf Restoration Groups Praise Historic Settlement for Oil Spill

PR Newswire

WASHINGTON, Jan. 3, 2013

Transocean penalties a step forward for unprecedented restoration efforts

WASHINGTON, Jan. 3, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ --Gulf restoration and
economic development groups lauded the announcement today from the Department
of Justice that it has reached an historic settlement with Transocean for its
role in the 2010 Gulf oil spill. Today's $1.4 billion settlement will be paid
under the Clean Water Act for civil and criminal penalties. A significant
portion of those funds will be used to restore the Gulf, as directed by the
RESTORE Act.

The groups issued the following statement:

"This is a great day for the Gulf environment and the communities that rely on
a healthy ecosystem for their livelihoods," said Environmental Defense Fund,
Greater New Orleans Inc., National Wildlife Federation, National Audubon
Society, The Nature Conservancy, Oxfam America and Ocean Conservancy. "We
thank the Department of Justice for their leadership in holding Transocean
accountable and look forward to full resolution of the case with other
responsible parties, which will allow restoration efforts in the Gulf to get
fully underway."

"With this settlement, the Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Council finally
has some funding to begin implementing a comprehensive plan for ecosystem
restoration that will rebuild the environment of the Gulf and the communities
that rely upon it."

CONTACTS:
Elizabeth Skree, Environmental Defense Fund, 202.553.2543, eskree@edf.org
David Ringer, National Audubon Society, 212.979.3062, dringer@audubon.org
Heather Layman, The Nature Conservancy, 703.841.3929, hlayman@tnc.org
Shelley Sparks, Ocean Conservancy, 504.616.9150, ssparks@oceanconservancy.org
Laura Rusu, Oxfam America, 202.496.1169, lrusu@oxfamamerica.org
Jaclyn McDougal, National Wildlife Federation, 678.436.5072, mcdougalj@nwf.org
Matt Wolfe, Greater New Orleans Inc., 504.527.6936, mwolfe@gnoinc.org

SOURCE Environmental Defense Fund
 
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.