Jordan Eberle Named Top Canadian World Juniors Player of the Past 40 Years

Jordan Eberle Named Top Canadian World Juniors Player of the Past 40 Years 
- TSN's panel of 25 hockey experts choose Eberle to headline Top 40 list of 
Canada's all-time best players at the IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP -
- TEAM CANADA'S 40 GREATEST JUNIORS airs tonight at 7:30 p.m. ET on TSN and 
TSN Mobile TV - 
To tweet this release: 
TORONTO, Dec. 19, 2012 /CNW/ - Edmonton Oilers forward Jordan Eberle is the #1 
player in Team Canada history at the World Juniors, as determined by a poll of 
25 hockey experts for TSN's TEAM CANADA'S 40 GREATEST JUNIORS special tonight 
at 7:30 p.m. ET on TSN and TSN Mobile TV. Eberle headlines a list of 40 
elite Canadian World Juniors players that includes Eric Lindros, Wayne 
Gretzky, Jason Allison, and Manny Legace (see below for Top 10 players; visit for complete Top 40 list). 
The list was compiled in celebration of the 40(th) anniversary of the World 
Juniors tournament. 
Eberle played for Team Canada at the IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP in 2009 
and 2010, winning a gold and silver medal. In 2009, Eberle scored one of the 
most memorable goals in Canadian World Juniors history against Team Russia in 
the semifinal round. The following year, Eberle was named tournament MVP and 
Best Forward. Eberle is Team Canada's all-time leading goal-scorer (14) and 
second in points (26) - five behind scoring leader Lindros, who represented 
Canada at the tournament in 1990, 1991, and 1992. 
A native of Regina, Eberle receives $5,000 to donate to his charity of choice 
- the Hospitals of Regina Foundation - for being named the top Canadian player 
in World Juniors history. 
"Team Canada has a rich and storied tradition at the World Junior Championship 
and I'm honoured to be a part of it," said Eberle. "It's flattering to be 
named #1, but as a Canadian, it's always amazing to play for Canada and put on 
the maple leaf." 
The panel of experts polled for TSN's Top 40 list includes hockey 
broadcasters, writers, scouts, and executives who cover or are involved with 
"To determine Canada's greatest players at the World Junior Championship, we 
asked 25 of the greatest tournament watchers to give us their choices and we 
believe the results speak for themselves," said Steve Dryden, Managing Editor 
of Content, TSN. "We are proud of the panel's work narrowing a list of 
hundreds of players who have represented Canada to a Top 40." 
TSN's James Duthie hosts the 60-minute TEAM CANADA'S 40 GREATEST JUNIORS 
special tonight alongside Hockey Insider Bob McKenzie, as they break down the 
exclusive list of Top 40 players. The special also features a countdown of 
the Top 10 most dramatic moments in Team Canada history at the World Juniors. 
The Top 10 players on TSN's TEAM CANADA'S 40 GREATEST JUNIORS list are as 
1. Jordan Eberle, F (2009, 2010)
  2. Eric Lindros, F (1990, 1991, 1992)
  3. Wayne Gretzky, F (1978)
  4. Jason Allison, F (1994, 1995)
  5. Manny Legace, G (1993)
  6. John Tavares, F (2008, 2009)
  7. Ryan Ellis, D (2009, 2010, 2011)
  8. Jonathan Toews, F (2006, 2007)
  9. Patrice Bergeron, F (2005)
 10. Jimmy Waite, G (1987, 1988) 
TSN has complete live coverage of the 2013 IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP from 
Dec. 26 to Jan. 5, with pre-competition games beginning Thursday, Dec. 20. 

    --  Sherry Bassin, Erie Otters general manager
    --  Craig Button, TSN scout
    --  Tim Bernhardt, Phoenix Coyotes scout
    --  Ken Campbell, The Hockey News
    --  David Conte, New Jersey Devils scout
    --  Gregg Drinnan, Kamloops Daily News
    --  James Duthie, TSN host
    --  Sheldon Ferguson, Carolina Hurricanes scout
    --  Ray Ferraro, TSN analyst
    --  Paul Graham, TSN vice-president
    --  Terry Jones, Edmonton Sun
    --  Terry Koshan, Toronto Sun
    --  Marc Lachapelle, Journal de Montréal (retired)
    --  Gary Lawless, Winnipeg Free Press
    --  Stéphane Leroux, RDS host
    --  Peter Loubardias, Shaw WHL play-by-play commentator
    --  Blair Mackasey, Minnesota Wild scout
    --  Pierre McGuire, NBC analyst
    --  Bob McKenzie, TSN Insider
    --  Gord Miller, TSN play-by-play commentator
    --  Willy Palov, Halifax Chronicle-Herald
    --  Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada vice-president
    --  Andrew Podnieks, IIHF writer
    --  Donna Spencer, Canadian Press
    --  Ed Willes, Vancouver Province

Visit to follow TSN's hockey experts and Insiders
Hashtag: #TSN


TSN is Canada's Sports Leader and #1 specialty network. With a broad portfolio 
of multimedia sports assets, TSN delivers world-class content across 
industry-leading platforms including TSN2,, TSN Radio and TSN Mobile 
TV. Official broadcaster of the Grey Cup, IIHF World Junior Championship and 
FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015, TSN's slate of live sports coverage 
includes NHL, CFL, NFL, NBA, MLS, Season of Champions Curling, UEFA Euro 2016, 
MLB Sunday Night Baseball, Barclays Premier League, Golf's Majors, NASCAR 
Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series, F1, Grand Slam Tennis, NCAA March Madness, 
and Skate Canada events. TSN is a division of Bell Media, which is owned by 
BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada's largest communications company.

Greg McIsaac, (w) 416.384.5180, (c) 416.458.3591, 
Chobi Liang, (w) 416.384.7584, (c) 416.859.4738, 
Renee Rouse, (w) 416.384.7599,



To view this news release in HTML formatting, please use the following URL:

ST: Ontario

-0- Dec/19/2012 19:03 GMT

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.