The Dallas Morning News Launches 2012 Texan of the Year Series, Names Jason Roberts as Finalist

 The Dallas Morning News Launches 2012 Texan of the Year Series, Names Jason
                             Roberts as Finalist

PR Newswire

DALLAS, Dec. 18, 2012

DALLAS, Dec. 18, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- The Dallas Morning News today launched
its tenth annual Texan of the Year series, naming Jason Roberts as a finalist.
Editorials about nine finalists will appear from December 18 through December
28, with the 2012 Dallas Morning News Texan of the Year published in the
newspaper on December 30.

The Texan of the Year is recognized for uncommon impact. Roberts was named a
finalist for energetic leadership that has inspired others to improve their

As noted in the editorial, Roberts is galvanizing communities around the
country to break through bureaucracies and reverse urban blight and decay,
setting an example with "Better Block" demonstration projects that he first
created in his Oak Cliff neighborhood. He has since taken that concept to
dozens of cities nationwide. According to Roberts, "You don't have to spend
millions of dollars on studies. You can incubate things as a community."

The full text of the editorial will be in Tuesday's paper and posted at Readers can visit the website and comment
on the selection and view videos in which The News' editorial writers explain
the selections.

"The editorial board received hundreds of thought-provoking nominations this
year, and it was a challenge to select only 10," said Keven Ann Willey, vice
president and editorial page editor of The Dallas Morning News. "I'm delighted
to announce this year's compelling and varied finalists, as I'm certain our
readers will agree with the merit of each."

Now in its tenth year, the Dallas Morning News Texan of the Year series draws
from reader nominations to the newspaper's Editorial Board. Criteria call for
"a Texan (or Texans) who has had uncommon impact – positive or negative – over
the past year." The editorial board selected the finalists and the Texan of
the Year through an internal vote.

Recent Dallas Morning News  Texans of the Year include:

  o2011: Admiral Bill McRaven (for his service as commander of the special
    operations raid that killed al-Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden)
  o2010: Texas governor Rick Perry (for his peerless political instincts that
    led to an unprecedented third term as Texas governor and catapulted him
    onto the national stage)
  o2009: The Heroes of Fort Hood (recognizing those caught up in the terror
    of a mass shooting, extended to include all Fort Hood-based military
    people and their families)
  o2008: Dallas County District Attorney Craig Watkins (for his dedication to
    reversing cases of injustice)

For more information or to schedule an interview with Keven Ann Willey or
editorial writer and project editor Rodger Jones, please contact Stephanie
Hoefken at 214-891-7693 or

About The Dallas Morning News
Established in 1885,The Dallas Morning News( is Texas'
leading newspaper and the flagship newspaper subsidiary of A. H. Belo
Corporation. Ithas received nine Pulitzer Prizes since 1986, as well as
numerous other industry awards recognizing the quality of its investigative
and feature journalism, design and photojournalism. Its portfolio of print and
digital products reaches an average daily audience of more than 1.1 million
people and includes online news and information sites; iPhone, Android and
iPad apps;Al Dia(, the leading Spanish-language daily in
North Texas; neighborsgo(, a consumer-generated community
news outlet; andBriefing,the free, home-delivered quick-read.

To advertisers, the portfolio of products is represented by DMNmedia
(, the marketing solutions group ofThe Dallas Morning News,

SOURCE The Dallas Morning News

Contact: Stephanie Hoefken, +1-214-891-7693,
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.