SPEED™ Names 16 International Finalists from 13 Series & Seven Countries for 7TH Annual Mario Andretti Trophy

  SPEED™ Names 16 International Finalists from 13 Series & Seven Countries for
  7TH Annual Mario Andretti Trophy

 Andretti, Gurney, Waltrip, Prudhomme, Russell Head 23-Member Voting Panel to
                      Select Speed Performer of the Year

Business Wire

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- December 04, 2012

In one of the strongest and most diverse fields in the history of the award,
16 racers from 13 different series have been nominated for the seventh annual
presentation of the Mario Andretti Trophy as the SPEED Performer of the Year.

The Mario Andretti Trophy, a 100-pound sculpture by Bronze artist Elie Hazak,
is presented annually ...

The Mario Andretti Trophy, a 100-pound sculpture by Bronze artist Elie Hazak,
is presented annually to the SPEED Performer of the Year (credit SPEED

“This might be one of the most difficult decisions to date,” said Andretti,
the only driver to win the Indianapolis 500, Daytona 500 and Formula One World
Championship. “Every year, a few racers seem to elevate themselves above the
rest, but this is a season loaded with extremely strong and passionate
performances that all deserve consideration.”

Nominees include 2010 SPEED Performer of the Year Sebastian Vettel (F1),
Fernando Alonso (F1), Brad Keselowski (NASCAR), Jorge Lorenzo (MotoGP), Casey
Stoner (MotoGP), Ryan Hunter-Reay (IndyCar), Antron Brown (NHRA), Kyle Larson
(USAC), Sammy Swindell (WoO), Sebastien Loeb (World Rally), Andre Lotterer
(WEC), Max Biaggi (World Superbike), Scott Pruett (Grand-Am), Donny Schatz
(WoO), Josh Hayes (AMA Pro Superbike) and Ryan Villopoto (Supercross).

Andretti will present the trophy, a 100-pound sculpture created by bronze
artist Elie Hazak, as part of a SPEED Center special January 27.

Representing both four-wheel and two-wheel efforts across the globe, the Mario
Andretti Trophy goes to the racer who puts a premium on winning races, shines
on the sport’s biggest stages and does it all with a measure of sportsmanship
and class.

The 2012 SPEED Performer of the Year is selected by a panel including
Hall-of-Fame racing legends Andretti, Dan Gurney, Darrell Waltrip, Don
Prudhomme, Scott Russell, "Wind Tunnel" host Dave Despain, veteran
broadcasters Bob Varsha, Ralph Sheheen and Leigh Diffey, SPEED.com writers
Robin Miller, Tom Jensen and Marshall Pruett, versatile racers Tommy Kendall
and Dorsey Schroeder and a select group of SPEED motor sports producers.

Former winners and runners-up:

  *2011 – Tony Stewart, NASCAR; Casey Stoner, MotoGP
  *2010 – Sebastian Vettel, F1; Jimmie Johnson, NASCAR
  *2009 – Tony Schumacher, NHRA; Jimmie Johnson, NASCAR
  *2008 – Jimmie Johnson, NASCAR; Tony Schumacher, NHRA
  *2007 – Jimmie Johnson, NASCAR; Donny Schatz, WoO
  *2006 – Jimmie Johnson, NASCAR. Nicky Hayden, MotoGP

About SPEED™

SPEED, anchored by its popular and wide-ranging coverage of NASCAR, is the
nation’s first and only cable television network dedicated to automotive and
motorcycle racing, performance and lifestyle. Now available in nearly 86
million homes in North America, SPEED, a member of the FOX Sports Media Group,
is among the industry leaders in interactive TV, video on demand, mobile
initiatives and broadband services, including SPEED2, a groundbreaking new
broadband network featuring live, streaming and on-demand events complementing
offerings of the linear network. For more information, please visit SPEED.com,
the online motor sports authority and follow us on Twitter: @SPEED.

About FOX Sports Media Group

FOX Sports Media Group (FSMG) is the umbrella entity representing News
Corporation’s wide array of multi-platform US-based sports assets. Built with
brands capable of reaching more than 100 million viewers in a single weekend,
FSMG includes ownership and interests in linear television networks, digital
and mobile programming, broadband platforms, multiple web sites, joint-venture
businesses and several licensing partnerships. FSMG includes FOX Sports, the
sports television arm of the FOX Broadcasting Company; Fox’s 20 regional
sports networks, their affiliated regional web sites and FSN national
programming; SPEED and SPEED2; FOX Soccer, FOX Soccer Plus and FOX Soccer 2Go;
FUEL TV; FOX Deportes and FOX College Sports. In addition, FSMG also
encompasses FOX Sports Interactive Media, which includes FOXSports.com on MSN,
Whatifsports.com Scout.com and Yardbarker.com. Also included in the Group are
Fox’s interests in joint-venture businesses Big Ten Network, BTN 2Go and
STATS, LLC, as well as licensing agreements that establish the FOX Sports
Radio Network and FOX Sports Skybox restaurants.


Photos/Multimedia Gallery Available:



Erik Arneson, 704-501-5795
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.