IPR Names 2013 Leadership and Trustees, Reinforces Research Direction

    IPR Names 2013 Leadership and Trustees, Reinforces Research Direction

PR Newswire

GAINESVILLE, Fla., Nov. 30, 2012

GAINESVILLE, Fla., Nov. 30, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Research on neuroscience and
public relations, employee communications, social media and measurement
standards will be core 2013 directions for the Institute for Public Relations
(IPR), led by newly elected officers and Trustees.

"These themes emerged from the IPR Trustees Research Symposium earlier this
month, which immediately followed the Board meeting where officers and
Trustees were elected," said president and CEO Frank Ovaitt.

Co-chairs for 2013 are Mike Fernandez, corporate vice president, corporate
affairs for Cargill; and Ken Makovsky, president, Makovsky. Elected as IPR
treasurer is Gary Sheffer, vice president, corporate communications and public
affairs, General Electric Company. Ovaitt will continue as IPR president and
CEO. Long-time Trustee Matt Gonring, vice president, corporate communications
for Jackson, is being honored as chairman, emeritus, recognizing his
leadership and service over five years as co-chair.

New Trustees joining the Board will broaden IPR's international and research
focus. These include David Albritton, vice president and chief communications
officer for Exelis; Terence Flynn, Ph.D., faculty member, McMaster University;
Michele Galen, head of communications, Novartis International; Christopher
Graves, global CEO, Ogilvy Public Relations; Jennifer Prosek, founder and CEO,
Prosek Partners; James Spangler, chief communications officer, Navistar
International; and Michael Stewart, partner and global director of
communications, McKinsey and Company.

Trustees re-elected for another three-year term include Bruce Berger, Ph.D.,
professor of advertising and public relations, University of Alabama; Julie
Craven, vice president, communications, Hormel Foods; Tracy Faulkner, vice
president, communications, Shell Oil Company; Gonring; Gary Grates, principal,
W2O Group; William Heyman, president and CEO, Heyman Associates; Maril
MacDonald, CEO, Gagen MacDonald; Thomas Mattia, chair, Edelman China; Ovaitt;
and Kirk Stewart, executive vice president, APCO Worldwide.

The Institute for Public Relations is an independent foundation dedicated to
the science beneath the art of public relations™ and focused on research that
is applicable in communications practice. Its research is available free at
www.instituteforpr.org and provides the basis for the organization's
professional conferences and events.

SOURCE Institute for Public Relations

Website: http://www.instituteforpr.org
Contact: Jenn Moyer, jmoyer@jou.ufl.edu, +1-352-392-0280
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.