-- Ohio SCCA Racer Tops Final-Four To Score Biggest Prize in Club Racing --

PR Newswire

IRVINE, Calif., Nov. 14, 2012

IRVINE, Calif., Nov. 14, 2012 /PRNewswire/ --Patrick Gallagher had an
impressive racing resume last week. Now he can add 2012 Mazda Club Racer
Shootout winner to his list of accomplishments. Gallagher will follow in the
footsteps of Andrew Caddell, Brad Rampelberg, Justin Piscitell, Nick Evans,
Scott Shelton, and Elliott Skeer, the six previous Mazda shootout winners.


He also joins the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development Driver ladder, which
includes the Mazda Road to Indy, program class of 2013. The MAZDASPEED ladder
has been a critical part of the success of up-and-coming racers including
Raphael Matos, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Joel Miller, Matthew Brabham, Connor
De Phillippi, Dane Cameron, Jack Hawksworth, Stevan McAleer, Jason Saini, Todd
Lamb, Eric Foss, Michael Cooper, Trent Hindman, Danilo Estrella, Adam
Christodoulou, Sage Karam, Spencer Pigot, Felix Serralles, Tristan Vautier,
Petri Suvanto, Scott Anderson, and Yago Cesario

When told that he had won the shootout, a prize valued at $75,000, the richest
in all of club racing Gallagher was almost speechless, " I don't quite know
what to say, It is amazing to have this opportunity. A huge thanks to everyone
who helped me get to this point, Mazda, my parents, Howard Concrete Pumping,
JAY Motorsports, CTL Engineering, and HKC Support. There is a reason there
are more Mazda's road raced on any given weekend than any other brand, they
build the best cars in the world and I am honored to have the opportunity to
be a part of their family."

The four shootout finalists were:

  oKenton Koch, Skip Barber Racing School MAZDASPEED Challenge Summer Series
  oPatrick Gallagher, SCCA Formula Enterprises Champion
  oBruce McNutt, Nova Scotia Spec Miata Champion
  oYiannis Tsiounis, NASA Spec Miata Champion

Charles Espenlaub, who has participated in the selection process in all six
previous competitions, commented on the deliberation process; "I am absolutely
amazed with the incredible level of talent at theMazda Club Racer Shootout.
This competition this year was theclosestever.The judging process
wasextremely difficult and made for a virtual photo finish at the
end.Congratulations to the competitors, a lot waslearned, new friendships
formed and the Mazda family gets a little bigger. Good luck to next year's
Mazda Club Racing Champions, but a word of advice...You better bring your
A-game to this competition, only the best will do!" 

The criteria: Given that each of the finalists had proven themselves on the
track by winning a championship, the criteria to move up needed to be more
encompassing. To succeed on the professional level requires a balance of
both on-track and off-track skills including the following:

  oDriving ability – fast laps
  oDriving ability – consistent laps
  oTechnical feedback – Understanding of vehicle dynamics and suspension
  oTechnical feedback – Ability to evaluate vehicle handling
  oTechnical feedback – Ability to analyze data
  oTechnical feedback – Ability to improve vehicle handling
  oThe business of motorsports – Business proposal
  oThe business of motorsports – Business presentation
  oThe business of motorsports – PR / Social Media Skills

The driving sessions were conducted at Buttonwillow Raceway Park using a Mazda
MX-5 Playboy Cup Car prepared by Tri-Point Motorsports.

The judges: Each year Mazda invites a panel of outside judges to make the
selection. The judges brought a wealth of both on-track and off-track
expertise. Over a dozen professionals were involved in the preliminary
business proposal review, on-track activities, or both. The 2012 panel
consisted of:

  oJonathan Bomarito – Professional Mazda racer, SpeedSource
  oCharles Espenlaub – Professional Mazda racer, Dempsey Racing
  oPete Evanow – College of Communications and Business, Cal State Fullerton
  oJohn Fabijanic – College of Engineering, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
  oEric Foss – Professional Racer, MAZDASPEED ladder alum
  oKarl Koenigstein – Michelin North America
  oJohn Morton – Sports car racing legend
  oMo Murray – Just Marketing, Inc.
  oLisa Natale – Marketing Consultant, Playboy
  oDan Passe – Passe Consulting Inc.
  oJason Penix – Director of Grassroots Initiatives, IndyCar
  oJeremy Shaw – Team USA Scholarship
  oScott Shelton – Director, ABC Full Circle, MAZDASPEED ladder alum
  oSteven Cole Smith – Freelance Journalist

The tally: After a full day of both driving, and classroom activities, the
judges added the objective and subjective scores -- discussing the merits of
each driver. The judges deliberated carefully before declaring Gallagher the
2012 champion.

The prize package: The total prize package is valued at over $75,000 and is
the largest prize in club racing.

  o$50,000 for the running of his car for the season
  o$10,000 in parts support
  oA MAZDASPEED driving suit and helmet
  oProfessional media training (Courtesy of MAZDASPEED)
  oBFGoodrich tires, one set per race (Courtesy of BFGoodrich Tires)
  o2013 entry fee waivers (Courtesy of SCCA Pro Racing)

About Mazda & MAZDASPEED

Mazda is the number-one brand for road-racers across North America. Thousands
of Mazda powered grassroots racers compete in various classes with the SCCA
and NASA highlighted by Spec Miata, the world's largest spec class with over
2,500 cars built. In 2006 Mazda established the MAZDASPEED Motorsports
Development Ladder to assist racers in moving up through the ranks. In 2010
this was expanded to include the Mazda Road to Indy. Key to Mazda's success
is strategic partnerships with the Skip Barber Racing School and Mazda Raceway
Laguna Seca.

MAZDASPEED Motorsports is managed by Mazda North American Operations (MNAO).
MNAO is headquartered in Irvine, Calif., and oversees the sales, marketing,
parts and customer service support of Mazda vehicles in the United States and
Mexico through nearly 700 dealers.Operations in Mexico are managed
byMazdaMotor de Mexico in MexicoCity.

Consumer information can be found at with press information
at Racers and fans can follow the action on Facebook
(Mazdaspeed Motorsports).

SOURCE Mazda Motorsports

Contact: Dean Case, Communications Officer, Mazda Motorsports, Mazda North
American Operations, +1-310-318-4582,
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.