L'OREAL-UNESCO for Women in Science Names Professor Deborah Jin

L'OREAL-UNESCO for Women in Science Names Professor Deborah Jin 2013
Laureate for North America 
15th Annual L'OREAL-UNESCO for Women in Science Awards Recognizes
Professor Deborah Jin as One of Five Exceptional Women Scientists
NEW YORK, NY and PARIS -- (Marketwire) -- 10/22/12 --  The L'Oreal
Foundation and UNESCO announce the five exceptional women scientists
from around the world who have been selected to be the 2013
L'OREAL-UNESCO For Women in Science Laureates. The research of the
2013 Laureates demonstrates exceptionally original approaches to
fundamental research in the Physical Sciences, from contributing to
better understanding climate change to advancing research on
neurodegenerative diseases and potentially uncovering new energy
An international network of scientists review the candidates for each
year's Awards. An independent, international Jury, comprised of 13
members and presided over by Professor Ahmed Zewail, winner of the
1999 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, selected this year's five Laureates.  
"We are very proud to have changed the face of science by supporting
women in science," said Jean-Paul Agon, Chairman and CEO of L'Oreal
and Chairman of L'Oreal Foundation. "We are convinced that science
and women bring hope and foster discovery, innovation and excellence.
All the best talents must be called upon to accomplish this mission.
L'Oreal believes in women, L'Oreal believes in science." 
Professor Deborah Jin is a physicist with the National Institute of
Standards and Technology, Quantum Physics Division, JILA Fellow at
NIST-JILA at the University of Colorado, and Professor Adjoint in the
Physics Department at the University.  
Jin's research focuses on ultracold trapped atoms. Her experiments
use laser cooling, magnetic trapping, and evaporative cooling to
reach temperatures below one microKelvin, where quantum statistics
dominate the behavior of atoms. By cooling fermions, in addition to
bosons, we can explore a variety of phenomena such as Bose-Einstein
condensation, Cooper pairing of fermions, ultracold atomic
interactions, and superfluidity in dilute atomic gases. 
Professor Deborah Jin earned a Ph.D. in physics from The University
of Chicago in 1995, after graduating from Princeton with an A.B. in
physics in 1990. In 1997, Jin was hired by NIST, elected a Fellow of
JILA, and appointed Professor Adjoint in the Department of Physics at
the University of Colorado. There she began studying ultracold gases
of fermions, a class of particles (including electrons) that cannot
share the same quantum state. In 1999, her group cooled a gas of
fermions (potassium atoms) to less than a millionth of a degree above
absolute zero. Science Magazine hailed this accomplishment as a
"Science Breakthrough of the Year." 
Jin is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American
Academy of Arts and Sciences. Her other honors include the American
Physical Society's Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award, NIST's Samuel Wesley
Stratton Award, The Franklin Institute's 2008 Benjamin Franklin Medal
in Physics, the Service to America Medal, and the 2009 William
Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement. 
Along with Professor Deborah Jin, the other Laureates recognized for
their scientific achievements include: 
 Professor Francisca Nneka OKEKE, University
of Nigeria, Nsukka (Nigeria)
 "For understanding of daily variations
of the ion currents in the upper atmosphere which may further our
understanding of climate change."  
 Professor Reiko Kuroda, Tokyo University of Science
 "For discovering the functional importance of the
difference between left handed and right handed molecules which has
applications for research is neurodegenerative diseases such as
 Professor Pratibha Gai, University of York
(United Kingdom)
 "For advancing our understanding of insulin
secretion and of neonatal diabetes." 
 Professor Marcia Barbosa, Federak University if Rio
Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre (Brazil)
 "For discovering one of the
peculiarities of water which may lead to better understanding of how
earthquakes occur and how proteins fold which is important for the
treatment of diseases." 
The Awards Ceremony takes place on March 28, 2013 at the UNESCO
Headquarters in Paris, France. As outstanding role models for the
next generation of scientists, each Laureate receives $100,000 in
recognition of their contribution to the advancement of science. 
A Jury Made Up of Eminent Scientists
 The 2013 L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards
Life Sciences Jury is made up of 13 eminent members of the
international scientific community. The President of the jury is
Professor Ahmed Zewail, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1999. Professor
Christian de Duve, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1974, is the Founding
President of the Awards; Irina Bokova, General Director of UNESCO, is
Honorary President. 
A Pioneering Program for the Promotion of Women in Science
 For the
past 15 years, the L'Oreal Corporate Foundation and UNESCO have
supported women researchers throughout the world who contribute to
moving science forward. Each year, the For Women in Science Program
highlights scientific excellence and encourages promising talent. 
Since 1998, the L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards have recognized 73 Laureates,
all exceptional women who have made great advances in scientific
research. Two of which have gone on to receive the Nobel Prize.  
In its aim to promote and encourage women throughout their scientific
careers, the For Women in Science partnership has also developed a
global network of International, Regional and National Fellowship
programs aimed at supporting young women who represent the future of
science. To date, Fellowships have been granted to more than 1,300
women in 106 countries, permitting them to pursue their research in
institutions at home or abroad. The program has become a benchmark of
scientific excellence on an international scale. 
About the L'Oreal Foundation 
 The L'Oreal Foundation, created in
2007, pursues the goal of making the world a better place each day.
It draws on the Group's values and business to strengthen and
perpetuate the Group's commitment to social responsibility. As the
second-largest corporate foundation in France, the L'Oreal Foundation
is committed to three types of action: promoting scientific research
in the fundamental and human sciences, supporting education and
helping individuals made vulnerable by alternations to their
appearance to reclaim their rightful place in society. 
 Since its creation in 1945, UNESCO has pursued its
mission of promoting science at the service of sustainable
development and peace. It focuses on policy development and building
capacities in science, technology and innovation and promoting and
strengthening science education and engineering. UNESCO fosters the
sustainable management of freshwater, oceans and terrestrial
resources, the protection of biodiversity, and using the power of
science to cope with climate change and natural hazards. The
Organization also works to eliminate all forms of discrimination and
to promote equality between men and women, especially in scientific
Press Contact:
Suzie Davidowitz 
L'Oreal USA 
Patricia Rallis / Jennifer Ong
Bratskeir &Company
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.