CEA Names Twelve Industry Leaders to the 2012 CE Hall of Fame

  CEA Names Twelve Industry Leaders to the 2012 CE Hall of Fame

  2013 Inductees Include Founder of Computer Mouse, Satellite Radio, LG And

CEA Industry Forum 2012

Business Wire

SAN FRANCISCO -- October 18, 2012

At its 13^th annual Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame awards ceremony held
Tuesday night, 12 industry leaders joined the 170 inventors, engineers,
retailers, journalists and entrepreneurs inducted since 2000 who have provided
innovative products and services that entertain, inform and connect consumers.

Speaking at the Consumer Electronics Association’s (CEA) Industry Forum in San
Francisco, CEA president and CEO Gary Shapiro, praised the inductees for their
contributions to the growth of the industry. “The success of our industry is
built upon the technologies and products these leaders created. These honorees
are among the true great pioneers on whose shoulders our industry stands. Our
products have a powerful impact on the world and I am proud to be part of this
strong tradition of innovation that continues to contribute to the economy

The ceremony included an awards dinner where honorees expressed their belief
that innovation in America is still driving the nation forward. They stressed
that the $206 billion consumer electronics (CE) industry is full of creativity
in design, software development and marketing. The 2012 inductees each made a
significant impact on the world with their vision and drive to bring their
ideas to market.

Following are the new members of the 2012 CE Hall of Fame in the categories in
which they were inducted:


  *Robert Briskman, inventor of satellite radio.
  *Willard Boyle/George Smith, inventors of the charge-coupled device (CCD).
  *Richard Citta, creator of AFB DTV standard.
  *Douglas Engelbart, inventor of the computer mouse and hypermedia.

Founders/Industry Executives

  *Charlie Ergen, founder of Echostar/Dish.
  *In Hwoi Koo, founder of LG.
  *Byung-chull Lee, founder of Samsung.


  *Bjorn Dybdahl, founder of Bjorn’s.
  *Fansy & Henry Gregg, founders of h.h. Gregg.

Industry Advancement

  *Larry Finley, founder of the International Tape Association (ITA).

Eight inductees or their representatives accepted awards at the dinner. Robert
Briskman explained, “We built four satellites because we thought we would lose
one to launch failure but they worked for 12 years. I just donated the fourth
one to the Smithsonian near Dulles airport – it was the first to support
satellite radio to the U.S. and Canada.” He added, “I am honored to receive
this award. To implement ideas, it takes a team of people, in some cases,
hundreds. I just look at myself as a figurehead.”

Richard Citta started his career 44 years ago in the Zenith research group
with Mr. Adler and Mr. Eilers as his bosses. “Twenty years ago we started on
DTV that used two transistors. Today we have three to five million chips, we
don’t even count them anymore,” he said. “We started in 1988 and all of our
R&D was involved – 16 got built. There were four all-digital systems at the
end because the Grand Alliance pushed them all together. It took us a year and
a half to reach our goal. Thank you very much for this honor.”

Bjorn Dybdahl said, “I love dealing with consumers. When we used to go on
vacation, I made my kids and wife go with me to every hi-fi store on the
route.” He said Len Tweeten was one of his mentors. “I’ve had great people
around me that made me look good.” He added, “The other night I went to Dolby
Labs and got a demo. What an exciting evening! The people that invent these
products make it easier for us retailers.”

Bill English accepted the award for Doug Engelbart who was not able to attend.
He said, “I was dubbed chief engineer in the 60s and built the first mouse in
1962. It was the first visible result of Doug’s work.” He added, “We could
also transmit a message over the ARPNET. But perhaps my greatest reward of
that time was meeting my wife who was Doug’s secretary.”

K.M. Koo accepted the award for In Hwoi Koo and said, “Today’s LG is a living
legacy to my great-grandfather. From humble beginnings six decades ago, the
enterprise that he founded, LG Corp., is now a $120 billion multinational
conglomerate comprising 60 companies, including the flagship LG Electronics.
He added, “As I read Founding Chairman Koo’s profile in tonight’s program, I
was struck with a feeling of awe and pride. His core business philosophy –
harmony among people, pioneering spirit and innovation leadership – is alive
and well at LG today.”

Guy Finley also accepted an award for his grandfather Larry who passed away in
2000. He showed a short video clip that captured some of the colorful moments
of Larry Finley’s association with Hollywood and the content community. Finley
said, “Entertainment is the driving force behind all new technologies. Larry’s
relationships connected hardware with software.” He added, “I’m honored to
step in to his huge shoes. My family who is here tonight are his greatest

Samsung’s Mr. Lee accepted the award for Byung-chull Lee. He said, “As head of
Samsung North America, it is a great honor for me to be here to accept this
distinguished honor on behalf of Samsung. From a humble beginning in 1938,
Samsung has grown in to 18 countries with 110,000 employees. Samsung
Electronics is the world’s largest company by revenue.” He added, “This would
not have been possible without Byung-chull Lee’s leadership. He developed
Samsung into a global player and his management philosophy lives today. Thank
you for this great honor.”

Charles (Charlie) Ergen could not attend but Joe Clayton, president and CEO of
DISH Network, accepted the award. He said, “Charlie is honored to be inducted
into the Hall of Fame along with Stanley Hubbard, Eddie Hartenstein – the
triumphrate of the satellite industry’s founding fathers is now complete. He
made satellite TV affordable.” He added, “He embraced consumers. That is the
winning formula for success. Isn’t that what the CE industry is all about?

The Hall of Fame inductees were chosen by a panel of industry judges from
nominations submitted by industry professionals. Judging for the 2012 Hall of
Fame took place on February 22, in New York. To read the 2012 CE Hall of Fame
booklet, visit www.CEVision.org.

About CEA:

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) is the preeminent trade association
promoting growth in the $206 billion U.S. consumer electronics industry. More
than 2,000 companies enjoy the benefits of CEA membership, including
legislative advocacy, market research, technical training and education,
industry promotion, standards development and the fostering of business and
strategic relationships.CEA also owns and produces the International CES –
The Global Stage for Innovation. All profits from CES are reinvested into
CEA’s industry services.Find CEA online at www.CE.org,
www.DeclareInnovation.com and through social media:
https://www.facebook.com/#!/CEAfeed, http://twitter.com/ceafeed,


  *CEO Summit and Board Retreat
    October 17-19, 2012, Sonoma, CA
    October 29, 2012, Stockholm, Sweden

  *CES New York Press Preview featuring CES Unveiled NEW YORK
    November 12, 2012, New York, NY

  *CES Unveiled LONDON
    November 15, 2012, London, UK

  *2013 International CES
    January 8-11, 2013, Las Vegas, NV


Consumer Electronics Association
Cindy Stevens, 703-907-7609
Mark Chisholm, 703-907-5229
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.