(The following press release from Cricket Australia was received by 
e-mail. The sender verified the statement.) 
28 September 2012 
Three independent Directors suggested for CA Board 
Cricket Australia's Board has today unanimously recommended that three 
outstanding individuals with diverse backgrounds and skills be elected as CA's 
first-ever independent directors on a streamlined nine-member Board. 
The three names will be put to CA Member State Cricket Associations at CA's 
Annual General Meeting on 25 October and subject to their approval - a 
two-thirds vote is needed - will meet as independent members of the CA Board 
for the first time on 26 October. 
That Board will serve for three years before then progressively moving over two 
years to become a Board of nine-independent directors. 
CA Chairman Wally Edwards today named the following people to be recommended to 
the CA members: 
*         Jacquie Hey, former Managing Director Ericsson Australia and NZ, who 
also held Managing Director roles with Ericsson in the UK, Ireland and Saudi 
Arabia, and currently a non-Executive Director with Bendigo & Adelaide Bank and 
SBS (as well as Honorary Consul of Sweden for Victoria) 
*         David Peever, Managing Director Australia Rio Tinto, Business Council 
of Australia Councillor and Economic Policy and Competitiveness Committee 
Chairman, Vice Chairman of the Minerals Council of Australia, Chairman of 
Northparkes Joint Venture, Male Champions of Change Advisory Group Member, and 
Melbourne Storm Business Advisory Board Member 
*         Kevin Roberts, a former NSW first-class cricketer/middle order bat 
with a top score of 119 for his state, a non-Executive Director of Netball 
Australia and former Colorado Group/Fusion Retail CEO and adidas Pacific 
Managing Director who also held senior adidas roles in Hong Kong and Germany, 
to sit alongside himself, John Bannon, Tony Harrison, Earl Eddings, Dr Harry 
Harinath and former Test fast bowler Michael Kasprowicz on a new Board 
replacing the previous, state-based, 14-member CA Board. 
He said the three were identified after a rigorous search process that started 
with an initial long list of more than 100 eminent Australians. 
"The Board today recommended that CA Members approve these three outstanding 
candidates to become independent Directors on our new Board," he said. 
"They all bring a close interest in and knowledge of cricket combined with 
significant experience and success at very senior corporate levels dealing with 
a wide range of diverse contemporary business challenges relevant to cricket, 
plus understanding and experience working with different cultures which is 
important to us as we strive to ensure cricket is a sport for all Australians 
of all backgrounds. 
"Most importantly, they offer us independent, expert insight from outside the 
day-to-day cricket world - we were focussed on finding three high-calibre 
candidates completely independent of cricket". 
He thanked his fellow CA Board Nominations Committee members Don Argus, Tony 
Hodgson, Ian McLachlan and Geoff Tamblyn for their work, which was supported by 
search firm Egon Zehnder International, and for their unanimous recommendation. 
Subject to Member approval finalising the new Board, Mr Edwards said he would 
introduce the new Board to Australian cricket and, via the media, to the public 
at next month's AGM. 
CA's governance changes followed an exhaustive review and recommendations by 
sports governance specialists David Crawford and Colin Carter and the move to a 
CA Board of six State Cricket Association representatives, one from each Member 
state, plus three independent Directors, was approved in August. 
At that time, Mr Edwards described the changes as the biggest in the 107-year 
history of Australian cricket administration.
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.