GlobalSpec Announces Free Automotive & Transportation Technology Online Tradeshow & Event

   GlobalSpec Announces Free Automotive & Transportation Technology Online
                              Tradeshow & Event

Online Event Offers Industry-Insider's View on the Latest Trends Driving
Today's Automobile and Transportation Industries

PR Newswire

EAST GREENBUSH, N.Y., Sept. 25, 2012

EAST GREENBUSH, N.Y., Sept. 25, 2012 /PRNewswire/ --

Who: GlobalSpec,  the leading specialized vertical search, information
services, e-publishing and online events company serving the engineering,
technical and industrial communities, recently acquired by IHS Inc. (NYSE:
IHS)

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20120410/NY85181LOGO )

What: GlobalSpec Online Trade Shows & Events are one-day, live and interactive
sessions that connect a worldwide community of suppliers and distributors with
their target market of engineering, technical and industrial professionals. At
this free online event, attendees will get to know the latest technologies
impacting hybrid and electric vehicle development, discover new manufacturing
techniques, and be among the first to learn of new software solutions for
product simulation. Attendees can also interact with exhibitors, network with
peers, attend educational sessions and discover solutions to help their
businesses keep pace with today's fast-changing marketplace.

When: Wednesday, September 26, 2012, 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM EDT (7:00 AM – 2:00 PM
PDT)

  oVisit the Exhibit Hall, chat with booth representatives.
  oVisit the Knowledge Exchange to interact with other attendees and learn
    about new technology and products.
  oVisit the Resource Center and download materials.

Where: Free registration online at http://bit.ly/RDBEe5. 

Event Schedule

10:30 AM - 11:30 AM EDT (7:30 AM – 8:30 AM PDT)

New Standards Address Counterfeit Parts, Vehicle Health
New technical standards from SAE International are helping vehicle
manufacturers and operators realize great success in two critical areas. One
area of concern is the current proliferation of counterfeit parts in the
supply chain. The other involves vehicle health management; specifically, the
development of integrated systems for monitoring all aspects of vehicle
health, including structural, propulsion, and electronics.
Presented by Bruce Mahone, director, Washington Operations, SAE International
and David Alexander, manager, SAE Aerospace Standards Europe, SAE
International

11:30 AM – 12:30 PM EDT (8:30 AM – 9:30 AM PDT)

DuPont Krytox® Performance Lubricants for the Automotive Industry
High performance lubricants from DuPont can improve vehicle quality through
increased life of components and reduced noise, vibration, and harshness
(NVH). These synthetic lubricants can help automotive OEMs and system
suppliers to reduce costs associated with warranty claims and avoid costly
alternative solutions. Find out how your system and component designs can
benefit from this technology.
Presented by Robert French, business development manager - Krytox® Performance
Lubricants, DuPont

12:30 PM – 1:30 PM EDT (9:30 AM – 10:30 AM PDT)

Meeting Hybrid Electric Vehicle Motor Insulation Challenges
The development of hybrid electric vehicles and electric vehicles (HEV/EV)
brings new challenges to automakers. This presentation will focus on HEV/EV
motor design; in particular, the electrical insulation system.
Presented by Keith Dunnavant, technical marketing specialist, DuPont Nomex®

1:30 PM – 2:30 PM EDT (10:30 AM – 11:30 AM PDT)

Polymer Nanocomposites for the Global Automotive Industry
Technical advances in polymer nanocomposites offer new solutions for
automotive engineers. For example, breakthroughs in polyolefin and polyamide
nanocomposite synthesis have changed their cost/performance structure and
altered market demand. Learn how polymer nanocomposites are expected to be a
major growth area in coming years.
Presented by Vivek Patel, senior knowledge officer (SKO), Centre for Knowledge
Management of Nanoscience & Technology (CKMNT) 

2:30 PM – 3:30 PM EDT (11:30 AM – 12:30 PM PDT)

Why Fuel Economy Depends on Materials
When it comes to better fuel economy, materials play a critical role. Learn
why building a strategic relationship with a materials technology provider can
improve the performance of many fuel saving technologies – from electric power
assisted steering, turbochargers, and direct injection systems, to the motors
and inverters of electric and hybrid electric vehicles.
Presented by Koshi Okamoto, executive director, Corporate Business
Development, Hitachi Metals America 

3:30 PM – 4:30 PM EDT (12:30 PM – 1:30 PM PDT)

Connecting Rod Optimization
Learn how a prototype connecting rod, 27% lighter than the original was
designed and fully validated with advanced numerical simulation and engine
durability testing. Understand how significant mass reduction is possible
without using exotic alloys or sacrificing component longevity.
Presented by Chris Hall, mechanical engineer, MAHLE Industries, Incorporated


About GlobalSpec
GlobalSpec, recently acquired by IHS Inc. (NYSE: IHS), is the leading provider
of digital media solutions designed to connect industrial marketers with their
target audience of engineering, technical, industrial, scientific and
manufacturing sector professionals. GlobalSpec provides its registered users
with a domain-expert search engine to search more than 50,000 supplier
catalogs by specification, a broad range of proprietary and aggregated
Web-based content, over 15 annual online events, and more than 70
e-newsletters - helping them search for and locate products and services,
learn about suppliers and access comprehensive technical content. For
suppliers, GlobalSpec helps generate awareness, demand and engagement
opportunities among the professionals they are looking to reach – from inbox
to desktop, through networks and via real-time engagement.

About IHS (www.ihs.com)
IHS (NYSE: IHS) is the leading source of information, insight and analytics in
critical areas that shape today's business landscape. Businesses and
governments in more than 165 countries around the globe rely on the
comprehensive content, expert independent analysis and flexible delivery
methods of IHS to make high-impact decisions and develop strategies with speed
and confidence. IHS has been in business since 1959 and became a publicly
traded company on the New York Stock Exchange in 2005. Headquartered in
Englewood, Colorado, USA, IHS employs more than 6,000 people in more than 30
countries around the world.

IHS is a registered trademark of IHS Inc. All other company and product names
may be trademarks of their respective owners. © 2012 IHS Inc. All rights
reserved.

Contact:
Amber Devin
Director, Marketing Communications
GlobalSpec
Tel: 518.880.0200 ext. 5338
adevin@globalspec.com

SOURCE GlobalSpec

Website: http://www.globalspec.com