FSA Announces New Slate of Board Members

Business & High Tech Editors  
SAN JOSE, Calif.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Jan. 10, 2001--  
Industry Leaders Round Out FSA Board of  
Directors Adding Growth and Diversity  
The Fabless Semiconductor Association (FSA), a leading industry 
organization representing the unique needs of the fabless/foundry 
business model, today announced the expansion and subsequent election 
of several new members to its board of directors. To lay the 
foundation for the FSA's continued success, the board of directors 
expanded the number of seats aimed at broadening and strengthening its 
board structure in 2001.  
Among the elected board members representing the fabless segment 
of the industry, re-elected members include Greg Aasen, COO of 
PMC-Sierra (NASDAQ: PMCS), and David French, president and COO of 
Cirrus Logic (NASDAQ: CRUS). Newly elected board member posts are now 
occupied by Di Ma, vice president of operations at NVIDIA (NASDAQ: 
NVDA) and Dwight Decker, chairman and CEO of Conexant (NASDAQ: CNXT).  
Perhaps the most important and far-reaching impact of the board 
expansion is the allocation of three new seats to manufacturing 
suppliers - such as foundry partners, backend test and packaging 
assembly member companies. Elected representatives for these seats 
include Barry Waite, president and CEO of Chartered Semiconductor 
Manufacturing (NASDAQ: CHRT); Rick Tsai, executive vice president of 
Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Corporation (TSMC) (TSE: TSM, NYSE: 
TSM); and Jim Kupec, president of United Microelectronics Corporation 
(UMC) (TSE: UMC, NYSE: UMC). The opportunity for partnerships and the 
creation of synergistic relationships will cultivate and nourish the 
FSA's primary focus to encourage a more optimal balance between wafer 
supply and demand.  
Another advantage to the board's expansion is the increase in the 
board's geographical presence beyond the traditional boundaries of 
Silicon Valley to represent other regions with significant 
technological development. PixelFusion Ltd. represents the United 
Kingdom, PMC-Sierra comes to the FSA from Canada and TSMC represents 
Taiwan. "The FSA expanded its board to reflect the diversity of the 
fabless community in terms of size, geography, markets and executive 
levels," said Jodi Shelton, FSA executive director. "With this growing 
regional and international coverage, we are more diverse than ever."  
The board actively recruited and sought out key industry leader, 
Willem (Wim) Roelandts, president and CEO of Xilinx, to serve as 
chairman of the board. "The FSA has an impressive list of 
accomplishments to date. We will continue to evaluate the FSA mission 
to ensure we are meeting the evolving needs of our membership and that 
we have established programs that support and encourage innovation. We 
strongly believe the next generation of semiconductor visionaries will 
come from the fabless segment," said Roelandts.  
Also noteworthy, a new seat was created to represent the segment 
of integrated device manufacturers, with Wayne Nesbit, vice president 
and director of Motorola's worldwide external technology group, 
appointed to fill the position.  
Existing fabless board representatives emanate from some of the 
largest, most successful fabless companies, including Vahid Manian, 
vice president of manufacturing and operations at Broadcom (NASDAQ: 
BRCM); Donald (Don) Schrock, president of CDMA technologies at 
Qualcomm (NASDAQ: QCOM); Dolores Marciel, vice president of worldwide 
materials at Adaptec (NASDAQ: ADPT); and Evert Wolsheimer, vice 
president and general manager of the CPLD business unit at Xilinx 
(NASDAQ: XLNX), who was named to an appointed seat representing the 
chairman of the board. In addition, several well-respected, mid-sized 
and small fabless startups are represented, including John Moor, vice 
president of operations at PixelFusion; Steve Michael, vice president 
of operations at EXAR Corporation (NASDAQ: EXAR); Mark Allen, 
president and COO of Transmeta (NASDAQ: TMTA); and Michael Elliot, 
chairman of Tropian.  
Other board members include Gina Gloski, operations consultant, 
and Dr. Robert Pepper, who was given the honor of director emeritus.  
The FSA's goal is to provide business tools and technical programs 
that make running fabless operations easier and constantly evaluate 
ways to bring more value to the membership. "We believe the new board 
- representing fabless companies, IDMs and their partners - will work 
together to better understand our business models and help temper the 
industry's cycles in the long term. Furthermore, the newly elected 
board members represent the substantial growth and diversity this 
industry has attained, and I look forward to watching them respond to 
industry challenges and chart new courses of success," said Shelton.  
About the Fabless Semiconductor Association (FSA)  
The FSA was incorporated in July 1994 by industry leaders wishing 
to achieve a more optimal balance between wafer demand and capacity 
for fabless companies. The FSA has over 240 corporate members 
representing fabless companies, foundry providers, packaging and 
assembly houses, investment bankers, providers of intellectual 
property (IP) and a variety of other suppliers and partners.  
The mission of the organization is to support the fabless model by 
encouraging the ongoing, symbiotic relationship between fabless 
semiconductor companies and suppliers; facilitate productive business 
partnerships; create awareness and promote the acceptance of the 
fabless business model; disseminate relevant data; and nurture the 
creation, adoption and implementation of standards and policies vital 
to the fabless model. To learn more about the FSA, please visit 
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.